24-7 Spyz - Face The Day

7 | 1 vote |
Release date: 10 July 2006
Style: Alternative metal, Crossover thrash metal


4 have it
2 want it

01. Unknown Wellknown
02. Face The Day
03. Waiting For The Sun
04. Soul Sucker
05. Ride To Nowhere
06. Faithless
07. The Saturday Song
08. Angel
09. Blues For Dimebag
10. Running
11. Anything For You
12. Plastique
13. Bad Reputation [Thin Lizzy cover]
14. Stand! [Sly And The Family Stone cover]

Additional info
Funk/Rap/Jazz Metal
Gumbo Records 2006 USA

Jimi Hazel - Guitars, Vocals
Rick Skatore - Bass, Vocals
Tobias Ralph - Drums

Staff review by
Although sadly now largely forgotten, the 24-7 Spyz were actually quite an important band back in the late 80s and early 90s alternative metal scene. Together with Bad Brains, Living Colour and Fishbone they pioneered mixing metal with jazz, R&B, soul, hip-hop and funk and we all know how influential this particular hybrid proved to be on the metal world. Still, while all of their peers couldn't really be called de-facto metal bands due to their focus on non-metal elements (Living Coulour was essentially hard-rock, Bad Brains were hardcore punk, Fishbone was more funk than anything else), the 24-7 Spyz were always the heaviest and most aggressive of the bunch, using numerous thrash metal and NYHC elements in their music. The band was on a hiatus for the last decade or so but now finally they decided to reemerge and make some noise by releasing Face The Day, their latest LP.

published 18.09.2006 | Comments (8)

Hits total: 2653 | This month: 3