Flotsam And Jetsam - Doomsday For The Deceiver 20th Anniversary Special Edition [Compilation]

8.9 | 24 votes |
Release date: 2006
Style: Thrash metal


31 have it
3 want it

Disc I [Doomsday For The Deceiver original mix]
01. Hammerhead
02. Iron Tears
03. Desecrator
04. Fade To Black
05. Doomsday For The Deceiver
06. Metalshock
07. She Took An Axe
08. U.L.S.W.
09. Der Führer
10. Flotzilla
11. Iron Tears [Iron Tears demo]
12. I Live You Die [Iron Tears demo]

Disc II [Doomsday For The Deceiver Re-mixed and re-mastered]
01. Hammerhead
02. Iron Tears
03. Desecrator
04. Fade To Black
05. Doomsday For The Deceiver
06. Metalshock
07. She Took An Axe
08. U.L.S.W.
09. Der Führer
10. Flotzilla
11. Hammerhead [Metal Shock demo]
12. The Evil Sheik [Metal Shock demo]
13. I Live You Die [Metal Shock demo]
14. The Beast Within [Metal Shock demo]

Disc III [Bonus DVD]
01. Interview part 1 [1983-84]
02. Iron Tears [Live at Palace West, New Years 1984]
03. Interview part 2 [1983-84]
04. Hammerhead video [Live in Jason's apartment 1985]
05. She Took An Axe [Live at The Pony Express 1985]
06. Iron Tears [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
07. Fade To Black [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
08. Metal Shock [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
09. She Took An Axe [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
10. Children Of The Night [unreleased] [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
11. The Executioner [unreleased] [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
12. Those Who Defy [unreleased] [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
13. On The Attack [unreleased] [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
14. I Live You Die [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
15. Hammerhead [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
16. The Beast Within [Live at Bootleggers 1985]
+ Photo History

Staff review by
Marcel Hubregtse
I know I stated in my Krux review that I don't believe in a perfect album, but, well, for this re-release I am making an exception. Damn, as soon as I had said, there's no such thing as a perfect release, along comes Metal Blade to prove me wrong with this 20th Anniversary triple disc.
Why am I saying this? What we get here is a totally re-mixed and re-mastered version of Doomsday For The Deceiver, the original recording of Doomsday, and the two demos F&J released, that's just the audio section of this box. As bonus dvd we get a full live set from all the way back in 1985 which features four unreleased tracks, also a photo history which has the Doomsday For The Deceiver track as background, so 9 minutes of rare photos and flyers, a hilarious video for Hammerhead shot in Jason's apartment, two more live tracks and an interview with the band filmed at Kelly's High School. Look at the young guys and you'll fall off your chairs laughing because of their early eighties hairdos. Yes, I know they looked like a glam band but of course aren't because of their music.
Enough has been written about Doomsday For The Deceiver's music over the years to warrant me from not doing that anymore, we all know what great music is featured on here. Still their only masterpiece, unfortunately the band only went downhill after releasing this (yes, Jason leaving the band was a major factor in this).
What always pissed me off with Doomsday For The Deceiver was it's horrible mix, almost spoiling the great music on it.
The master tapes must have been in a good condition because the re-mixed and re-mastered version sounds like an almost totally different recording. As if the original band went into the studio this year and re-recorded it. All aspects of the sound have enormously improved. The drums sound brilliant now, the bass is more prominent, the guitars have more body. You now even hear guitar riffs and bass lines which can't be heard on the original recording, and the great thing about this re-release is that you can compare the re-mixed re-mastered version immediately since the original recording is included.
Oh yeah, and luckily the atrocious artwork has been left intact. There is no denying the fact that the cover of Doomsday is horrible, but after all these years I wouldn't want to have it any other way. But when it was released in 1986 I wished they had used the logo with the skull as cover instead.
I guess you're all asking yourselves if you should get this when you already own the original Doomsday For The Deceiver? No doubt about it. Run off to the record store, or order it via Internet and buy it immediately. What more could you expect of a re-release? It has the original recording, a far superior re-mixed re-mastered version, the two demos, and loads of stuff on the bonus DVD.
If it weren't for the fact that we don't nominate re-releases for album of the year this would certainly be my album of the year.
All I want to say in conclusion is… Metal Blade thank you for re-releasing something the way you have done here. So, to all other record companies around… look at what Metal Blade have done with their Doomsday For The Deceiver 20th Anniversary Special Edition and learn from that.
published 22.11.2006 | Comments (10)

Hits total: 3216 | This month: 18