Advertise on Metal Storm
Obscura - Retribution

7.5 | 120 votes |
Release date: August 2006
Style: Progressive death metal, Technical death metal


160 have it
20 want it

01. Humankind
02. Nothing
03. Unhinged
04. None Shall Be Spared
05. Alone
06. Hymn To A Nocturnal Visitor
07. Intoxicated
08. Exit Life
09. Sentiment
10. Sweet Silence
11. Lack Of Comprehension [Death cover]
12. Synthetically Revived [Suffocation cover] [2010 re-release bonus]
13. God Of Emptiness [Morbid Angel cover] [2010 re-release bonus]

Guest review by
I've always seen tech death as having two waves. First, there were the older bands that pioneered it in the early 90s, primarily Death, Cynic, Atheist, and Nocturnus. These bands put a technical (or progressive) spin on the classic death metal sound, but for the most part, their music was more death metal than it was progressive. Then we have the newer bands, the "second wave," (Obscura, Necrophagist, Beyond Creation, The Faceless, etc) who in a way flipped that on its head, and made the genre become a bit more… evolved, for lack of a better word. For those who have become accustomed to Obscura's sound on Cosmogenesis and Omnivium, you're a little out of luck finding it on their debut. Retribution is something of an homage to the classic tech death sound, particularly that of Death (*hint hint* "Lack Of Comprehension" cover). It's nowhere near as advanced as Obscura's more recent work, but it certainly isn't a bad release either.

published 16.01.2012 | Comments (9)

Found in 2 lists
Top lists

Hits total: 8077 | This month: 19