Waylander - Honour Amongst Chaos

7.7 | 32 votes |
Release date: June 2008
Style: Celtic folk metal


50 have it
8 want it

01. As The Deities Clash
02. Walk With Honour
03. Beyond The Ninth Wave
04. Galloping Gaels
05. To Dine In The Otherworld
06. Usurpers Of Our Legacy
07. Taker Of Heads
08. Elemental Chaos
09. Brū Na Bōinne

Additional info
Black Metal /Folk Metal
Listenable Records 2008

Staff review by
Folk metal being the big trend on the scene right now, one has to be weary of many a new release from this style since there is plenty of trivial and derivative stuff out there. Luckily, although far from being a progeny of any caliber, The Northern-Irish Waylander offer us a form of blackened folk that avoids most pitfalls associated with the style. The music on Honour Amongst Chaos never devolves into kitsch or pointless alcoholic good-times. Instead, we are treated to a harsh and intense pagan vibe, reminiscent of Primordial or Enslaved, with some musical echoes of early Moonspell.

published 30.06.2008 | Comments (3)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Hits total: 4134 | This month: 10