Advertise on Metal Storm
Oakenshield - Gylfaginning

7.1 | 12 votes |
Release date: 27 June 2008
Style: Viking folk metal


12 have it
1 trades it

01. Ginnungagap
02. The Sons Of Bor
03. Idavoll
04. Yggdrasil
05. The Aesir
06. Fenris
07. Valhalla
08. Utgarda-Loki
09. Hymir
10. The Death Of Baldr
11. Vigrid

Additional info
All songs, written, performed and recorded by Ben Corkhill
Produced and mixed by Ben Corkhill
Session violin by Gareth Evans

Staff review by
If you can't stand Falkenbach, don't bother to read any further. There won't be nothing of interest for you in this review.

Oakenshield is a British one man band which indulges in Viking Metal, just like a nearly ridiculous amount of bands does nowadays. Ben Corkhill is the man behind Oakenshield who attempts to compress the Gylfaginning - the creation and destruction of the world in Snorri Sturluson's Prose Edda - into 60 minutes. So far, so generic. So what sets Oakenshield apart from the rest of the Viking Metal flock?

published 07.07.2008 | Comments (5)

Hits total: 3201 | This month: 11