Lizzy Borden - Master Of Disguise

7.6 | 29 votes |
Release date: July 1989
Style: Heavy metal


36 have it
6 want it

01. Master Of Disguise
02. One False Move
03. Love Is A Crime
04. Sins Of The Flesh
05. Phantoms
06. Never Too Young
07. Be One Of Us
08. Psychodrama
09. Waiting In The Wings
10. Roll Over And Play Dead
11. Under The Rose
12. We Got The Power
13. Vampire's Kiss [bonus]
14. The Orchestra [bonus]

Guest review by
With the current abundance of symphonic metal bands, ever wondered who actually invented the genre? Most would point to Savatage's 1989 release "Gutter Ballet" and they would be correct, of course, but credit goes too at times to a similar and, regrettably, far less known band/artist named Lizzy Borden. Released just months before "Gutter Ballet," "Master of Disguise" is credited as a Lizzy Borden album, but it is as far removed from the band's earlier heavy and power metal ("Love You To Pieces" and "Menace to Society") and more recent glam metal offering ("Visual Lies") as can be. Additionally the album sports a large number of guest appearances (9 to be exact) with only Lizzy Borden (the singer that is) and his brother and drummer Joey Scott appearing on every track and therefore it is better thought of as a Lizzy Borden solo album. Normally I am not too crazy about a long and prominent guest list (well the only prominent musician is bassist Joey Vera). But Lizzy Borden proves to be a competent band leader as everyone synchs together really well.

published 19.12.2008 | Comments (0)

Hits total: 2767 | This month: 22