Vulture Industries - The Dystopia Journals

8.4 | 72 votes |
Release date: September 2007
Style: Avantgarde metal, Progressive metal


72 have it
16 want it

01. Pills Of Conformity
02. Blood Don't Flow Streamlined
03. A Path Of Infamy
04. Soulcage
05. The Benevolent Pawn
06. The Crumbling Realm
07. To Sever The Hand Of Corruption
08. Grim Apparitions
09. Ende [Ragnarok Records vinyl bonus]

Bjørnar Erevik Nilsen - vocals, keyboards, programming, guitars
Øyvind Madsen - guitars, keyboards
Eivind Huse - guitars
Tor Helge Gjengedal - drums
Kyrre Teigen - bass

Session musicians
Kim Hellgren - viola
Ben Nation - cello

Additional info
Recorded in Conclave & Earshot studios in 2006-2007.
Produced by Bjørnar E. Nilsen and Vulture Industries.
Additional engineering by Herbrand Larsen and Arve Isdal.
Mastered at Cutting Room by Mats "Limpan" Lindfors.
Cover and photos by Maja Markegård.

The vinyl edition by Ragnarok Records has a different tracklist order with tracks 5 and 6 switched as well as tracks 7 and 8.

Guest review by
How is it possible for a band to use so many artifices already worked by other bands, and yet sound so unique? Vulture Industries must be the most perfect example for an answer. Considering Metal as a sort of soup, this album would be filled with weird ingredients, generating a thick mixture of symphony, experimental, progressive, doom and black elements, but so properly distributed that the taste is not compromised. Leaving to us listeners solely the pleasant avant-garde sweet flavor.

published 19.05.2010 | Comments (3)

Found in 5 lists
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 166 users
29.11.2013 - 16:58
Rating: 9
Metal Addict
"Normality is slavery. Be Abnormal! Be Free!"
Vulture Industries - Grim Apparitions

I think this quotation from the band's song speaks far more about this album than I any words I could ever put.
"And we are not who we think we are
We are who we're afraid to be"
- Lux Occulta "The Opening of Eleventh Sephirah"

Hits total: 7369 | This month: 9