Cerebrum - Spectral Extravagance

8.3 | 3 votes |
Release date: 18 August 2009
Style: Technical death metal


6 have it
1 wants it

01. Fragments Of Illusion
02. Scatter-Brain
03. Pattern Of Fear
04. Intolerable Ado
05. Epiphysis Thrive
06. Edge Of Parallel Circles
07. Beyond Imagination
08. Thorns Of Weakness
09. Salvia Divinorum
10. The Prologue Of Completion
11. Shreds Of Remains

Additional info
Line-up on the CD:
Apollon Zigomalas: vocals
Jim Touras: guitar
Mike Papadopoulos: guitar, bass
George Kollias: drums (session)

Staff review by
(Progressive) Technical Death metal
Recorded: DB Recording Studios, Slovenia / Grindhouse Studio, Greece 2007
Label: Lacerated Enemy Records
Total Running Time: 42:45

If there's one thing you learn pretty damn fast in the exiting world of reviewing, it is to never trust a press sheet. Cerebrum is advertised as "the new hope of technical death metal". For a minute there I was worried Necrophagist's recording studio has been bombed, or that all members of Atheist, Pestilence and Obscura are diagnosed with a mysterious and incurable disease after opening the sealed tomb of a pharaoh on their last Egyptian tour. While such sloganesque statements might work for politicians running for president, Cerebrum don't yet have that kind of standing and charisma to sell their debut as the new best thing on the tech death market.

published 05.12.2009 | Comments (1)

Found in 1 list
Top lists

Hits total: 2033 | This month: 5