Buy for
(10 items)

Release date: 27 January 2006
Style: Industrial progressive metal


8.4 | 276 votes


330 have it
18 want it
1 trades it

Disc I [CD]
01. Let It Roll
02. Hypergeek
03. Triumph
04. Babysong
05. Vampolka
06. Vampira
07. Mental Tan
08. Gaia
09. Pixillate
10. Judgement
11. A Simple Lullaby
12. Sunset
13. Notes From Africa
14. Sunshine And Happiness [hidden]

Disc II [Safe Zone] [Limited Edition Bonus DVD]
01. Truth [Live in studio]
02. Regulator [Live in studio]
03. Storm [Live in studio]
04. Earth Day [Live in studio]
05. Life [Live in studio]
06. Deadhead [Live in studio]
07. Away [Live in studio]
08. Slow Me Down [Live in studio]
+ Storm [video]
+ Home Videos [Studio & Tour Report]
+ Photogallery

Lyrics (13)

Devin Garret Townsend - vocals, guitars, programming
Dave Young - keyboards, grand piano, Hammond organ, mandolin, guitars
Brian "Beav" Waddell - guitars, additional vocals
Ryan Van Poederooyen - drums
Mike Young - bass, upright bass, tuba, additional vocals

Additional musicians
Steve Vai - guitar solo
Daniel Young - tambourine
Rocky Milino - Dobro
Heather Robinson - additional vocals
Deborah Tyzio - additional vocals
Chris 'The Heathen' Valagao - additional vocals

Additional info
Written, produced, engineered, edited and mixed by Devin Townsend.
Additional engineering and life rop-info-hotline by Shaun Thingvold.
Recorded at The Devlab, assisted by Dave Young and Mike Young.
Mixed at The Devlab, then Hipposonic A studios.
Mastered by Greg Reely at GreenJacket.

Found in 6 lists
Top lists

Introspekrieg Beginner's Guide To Building A Prog Collection (Standards, And A Few Unorthodox Choices)  | #225
Bombest Bombest's Most Listened To Albums  | #43
TheMaggotMaster Albums That Will Go With Me To My Grave.  | #9
Starchild Top 20 Albums Of 2006  | #7
FullyOttoMatic Top 30 Albums Of 2006  | #21
andreosokin Top Albums Of 2006  | #4
More lists | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 2  
Users visited: 196  
Search this topic:  

musicalkaratekid - 06.03.2012 at 01:06  
Rating: 9 Like 'Accelerated Evolution', this album has such a powerful production, which makes every instrument on the album seem much more impressive than it actually is. And the way these instruments are used are good enough in their own way. As for songwriting, it may not be Townsend's most accessible work to date, but it sure as hell showcases more of his experimental techniques, going through such non-metal genres as Rock 'n' Roll (Sunshine and Happiness) and Polka Rock (I think that's what the genre is referred to as-'Vampolka'). Oh, and Devin's dancing on the video for 'Vampira' is epic.
Doge of Venice - 15.05.2013 at 19:18  
Rating: 8 Babysong, Pixillate and Notes from Africa are among my favourite Devin tracks. The rest of the album is pretty good, though there are some songs I'm not particularly interested in.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Devin Townsend - The Hummer 7.5 28.05.2011 by Pétur
Albums Devin Townsend - European Tour 5.5 14.02.2011 by Introspekrieg
Reviews Devin Townsend - Ghost 4.5 15.12.2011 by Unhealer
News Devin Townsend - To Launch Crowdfunding For 'Casualties Of Cool' 4.5 10.02.2014 by
News Casualties Of Cool - Launch Live Video, Debut To See Full Release 4.5 21.12.2015 by M C Vice

Hits total: 6709 | This month: 29