Buy for
(6 items)

Release date: 23 April 2012
Style: Progressive rock


8 | 130 votes


106 have it
8 want it

Disc I
01. The New Real
02. Pink Beatles In A Purple Zeppelin
03. Parental Procreation Permit
04. When I'm A Hundred Sixty-Four
05. E-Police
06. Don't Switch Me Off
07. Dr. Slumber's Eternity Home
08. Yellowstone Memorial Day
09. Where Pigs Fly
10. Lost In The New Real
    1 - Ghosts
    2 - Dead Or Alive...
    3 - Synthetic State Of Consciousness
    4 - Blissful Ignorance
    5 - A Second Chance?
    6 - Switch Me Off
+ Behind The New Real [video][bonus]

Disc II [Special CD ROM section: Behind The New Real]
01. Our Imperfect Race
02. Welcome To The Machine [Pink Floyd cover]
03. So Is There No God?
04. Veteran Of The Psychic Wars [Blue Öyster Cult cover]
05. The Social Recluse
06. Battle Of Evermore [Led Zeppelin cover]
07. The Space Hotel
08. Some Other Time [Alan Parsons Project cover]
09. You Have Entered The Reality Zone
10. I'm The Slime [Frank Zappa cover]
+ Behind The Artwork [video][bonus]

Lyrics (15)

Arjen Anthony Lucassen - lead vocals ("Mr. L"), guitars, bass, keyboards, other instruments

Session Musicians
Rutger Hauer - spoken vocals ("Voight Kampff")
Wilmer Waarbroek - backing vocals, grunts on "Parental Procreation Permit"
Ed Warby - drums
Rob Snijders - drums
Ben Mathot - violin
Maaike Peterse - cello
Jeroen Goossens - flutes
Elvya Dulcimer - hammered dulcimer, female vocals on "The Battle of Evermore"
Gjalt Lucassen - megaphone on "I'm The Slime"

Additional info
Also referred to as Arjen Anthony Lucassen's Lost In The New Real.

Produced by Arjen Anthony Lucassen
Cover art made by Claudio Bergamin

Found in 17 lists
Top lists

Introspekrieg Beginner's Guide To Building A Prog Collection (Standards, And A Few Unorthodox Choices)  | #239
strade 2012: Towards The Megalist  | #50
R'Vannith 2012 Musical Perusals  | #110
Red_Travis My Top Albums Of 2012  | #93
Xylem12345 2012 So Far  | #13
R Lewis Songs I Would Smoke To If I Was A Weed Smoker  | #2
musclassia 2012: Favourite To Least  | #93
musclassia 2012: Favourite To Least (Continued)  | #166
More lists with this album (17) | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 404  
Search this topic:  

Opethian - 02.05.2012 at 23:22  
Rating: 9 Fucking Superb! Congrats Arjen! This is a stellar performance 100% all the way!
Hollberr - 07.05.2012 at 07:12  
Rating: 8 The album in itself is VERY good, although to my taste I would have prefered a little more prog-heavy songs like lost in the new real.
Arjen is really good to make catchy poppy songs, but where he shines the most is in his most atmospheric - melodic moments (age of shadows, one small step, all guilt machine, etc.).

He didn't ''try'' enough things. Imo.
Valaskjalf - 07.11.2012 at 19:43  
Rating: 6 Weird space brain does not want to be exposed to this!
3rdWorld - 07.04.2013 at 20:19  
Rating: 8 Incredible album, this turned out to be one of my most listened-to records in 2012.
R Lewis - 10.10.2013 at 17:00  
Rating: 9 Honestly amazing. Has a spacey atmosphere that's both alienating and relaxing
M C Vice - 18.11.2013 at 10:57  
  How does he not thank his brother in this one?
JohnDoe - 18.11.2013 at 12:59  
Written by Capzero on 10.09.2013 at 23:00

Grandissimo album, con canzoni che rimangono in testa

this is not youtube, evryone must post in English, wasn't that obvious? no offense

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Arjen Anthony Lucassen - New Video Online 7.5 21.06.2012 by WorpeX
Albums We Lost The Sea - The Quietest Place On Earth 6 25.12.2012 by who_cares
Albums Hypnos - Heretic Commando / The Rise Of New Antikrist 6 30.04.2012 by MikeVonDoom
Albums Spheric Universe Experience - The New Eve 6 23.07.2012 by bazinko
Albums Dark Princess - The World I've Lost 6 25.04.2014 by ManiacBlasphemer

Hits total: 5720 | This month: 30