Venomous Concept - Retroactive Abortion

8.5 | 10 votes |
Release date: 29 June 2004
Style: Grindcore, Hardcore, Punk


9 have it
1 wants it

01. Weirdo
02. Oink!
03. Rhetoric
04. I Said It Before
05. Freakbird
06. Infest
07. Life's Fine
08. Idiot Parade
09. Hard On
10. Group Hug
11. Anti Social
12. Run Around
13. Smash
14. Monkey See - Monkey Beat
15. Total Recall
16. Braincrash
17. Think? [Japanese bonus]
+ Total War [video]

Staff review by
Venomous Concept is every grindcore and crusty hardcore fan's dream come true as it boasts members who have been in such bands as Brutal Truth, Napalm Death, Fantomas, Melvins and Pain Killer. The very name of the band is a play on words of Poison Idea and indeed, the music on this disc often seems like a homage to that cult ultra-heavy hardcore group. Recorded in just two days in an amateur studio, it is pretty clear that the idea behind this album was not to be original or groundbreaking. Instead, the renowned musicians use it as a way to vent their anger concerning such topics as politics and the commercialization of punk rock, as well as an opportunity to play some seriously harsh old-school hardcore.

published 15.10.2005 | Comments (0)

Hits total: 2487 | This month: 16