Sand Aura - Elegy Of The Orient

7.3 | 16 votes |
Release date: 13 November 2012
Style: Progressive folk metal


13 have it
10 want it

01. The Sand Aura (From The Land Of Nod)
02. Aljahelia
03. The Orphaned Child I (Pilgrimage For His Name)
04. The Orphaned Child II (Fountain In The Desert)
05. Fountains Of Moses
06. Ya Sabbya
07. The Shepherd's Elergy
08. Sidi Abd El-Raheem

Muhammed Hassany - vocals
Shung - guitars

Staff review by
Imagine you're walking through a desert, in the blistering heat, in the middle of the day. Let's say the Sinai desert, since Sand Aura are Egyptian. You're dying of thirst, looking for water in any and all directions. All of a sudden, it begins to rain, and out of nowhere emerges a group of hooded desert-dwellers to offer you rainwater that they've collected in bowls as a drink. As you take your sips, your body is completely rejuvenated, and your mind begins to fully absorb its surroundings, wandering off to dreamlike musings upon what the area was like thousands of years ago, its history, and its legacy. Elegy Of The Orient, the 2012 debut from this little-known African band, paints a picture of such an experience with its music, from its very first seconds sending you on a musically historic trip that doesn't let you go until its final seconds.

published 15.03.2013 | Comments (16)

Found in 6 lists
Top lists


Comments: 1   Visited by: 31 users
07.05.2013 - 18:32

Hits total: 2924 | This month: 13