Release date: 24 October 2014
Style: Death metal


7.8 | 54 votes


55 have it
9 want it

01. Human Obsolescence
02. Perfecting Slavery [feat. Christian Muenzner]
03. Inanimate
04. Devouring The Essence Of God [feat. Bobby Koelble]
05. One Percent Incomplete
06. Loathed In Life / Praised In Death
07. By My Demons
08. Laborem Liberat Te
09. The Inevitable Return To Darkness
10. Night's Blood [Dissection cover] [bonus]


Charles Elliot - guitars, vocals
Scott Fuller - drums
Elisio Garcia - bass

Guest musicians
Christian Münzner - guitar solo
Bobby Koelble - guitar solo

Additional info
Recorded by Mike Bear at Artisan Road.
Mixed and mastered by John Haddad at Trench Studios.

Artwork by Pär Olofsson.

Staff review by

Too often modern death metal bands seem content to imitate genre originators ala Morbid Angel, Cannibal Corpse or Deicide. Hence, it is refreshing to hear a band that plays traditional death metal and somehow manages to come across as reasonably unique. And, with Obsolescence, Abysmal Dawn do just that.

published 28.10.2014 | Comments (10)

Found in 11 lists
Top lists

Chobo_jokeR 2014: From Professor JokeR's Perspective  | #34
EnigmaLake Best Albums Of 2014 XIV- As It Progresses (Updated Weekly)  | #48
Tony Montana Best of 2014  | #16
Michaelis TOP Albums - 2014  | #10
Necrodamus My Top 10 Albums Of 2014  | #10
gnimas Death Libels  | #1
HeavyWork The Best Of 2014.  | #13
Iskander My Top Albums Of 2014  | #3
More lists with this album (11) | Create a list! ››


‹‹ Back to the Albums
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 200  
Search this topic:  

J. N. - 06.08.2014 at 01:36
Bad English - 22.10.2014 at 12:07  
Written by J. N. on 06.08.2014 at 01:36

submit it as MS news next time, I hope you know how to do it
Bad English - 22.10.2014 at 12:07  
  Just gave a try I dunno, somehow I think weaker album as others, I need listen more not one time
arj - 29.10.2014 at 12:41  
Rating: 8 Like it
Traezeus - 10.01.2015 at 03:31  
Rating: 8 I'd give this album a 7.75. Not quite 'very good', but definitely a few notches above 'good'. I've always liked Abysmal Dawn's style.. they're pretty awesome when you want some groove-oriented, thrashy death metal.
progpiggy - 23.03.2015 at 10:11  
Rating: 4 Absolute garbage. Of all tech bands this one was always one of the weakest. They sound like six feet under trying to be tech. The guest solos are the only saving grace here.

Advertise on Metal Storm

Login or register to post here.

Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Abysmal Dawn - Obsolescence 6 28.10.2014 by MetalDoomMaster
Albums Abysmal Dawn - From Ashes 5.5 04.07.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Albums Abysmal Dawn - Leveling The Plane Of Existence 5.5 01.02.2011 by Tatras
Albums Autumn's Dawn - Gone 5 22.07.2014 by J. N.
Albums Mors Principium Est - Dawn Of The 5th Era 4.5 13.09.2014 by Lord_Agony

Hits total: 3152 | This month: 5