Root - Zjevení / The Revelation

8.2 | 24 votes |
Release date: 1990
Style: Black metal


21 have it
1 wants it

01. Intro / Intro-X..Enochian Key
02. Zjevení / The Revelation
03. Aralyon / Aralyon
04. Výslech / Torture
05. Upálení / Burn Death
06. Píseň Pro Satana / Song For Satan
07. 666 / 666
08. 7 Èerných Jezdcù /Seven Black Horsemen
09. Démon / Demon
10. Znamení / A Sign
11. Cesta Zkázy / The Way Of ...
12. Hrbitov / Cementary

Additional info
Recorded from 16 to 28 July 1990 in Studio "C", Ostrava (Czechoslovakia).

Though I doubt anyone knows when this album's 30th anniversary is exactly, today Withing Hour Productions reissued this album with a whole bunch of extras, so it might be time to remember this overlooked Czech classic. Though I admittedly prefer their compatriots in Master's Hammer, and I do think the cover art and the music is incredibly goofy, it's still a pretty incredible sample of first wave black metal, mid-paced, rooted (no pun intended) in heavy metal, but with an evil doom tone as well. It's incredibly simplistic, and even as goofy as it is, it still manages to feel authentic. Big Boss was in his late 30s when Zjevení was released, so it's never to late to start your own influential black metal band, and he is still fronting Root to this day.

RaduP's picks | More picks ››

Hits total: 3020 | This month: 42