Crimson Glory - Biography




Crimson Glory began life in Sarasota, Florida in 1982 under the moniker 'Beowulf'. They rehearsed diligently, finding and developing their sound for almost four years before recording their self-titled debut album on Par Records in 1986. Tight harmonies and soaring vocals would feature prominently on this release, and the album included the haunting track, "Lost Reflection".

In an era of sound- and look-alike metal bands, Crimson Glory wished to have themselves be immediately identifiable from the rest, so they wore full-face metallic silver masks on-stage (as well as for all photo shoots and public appearances). The mystically-named vocalist Midnight was the exception to this, as his mask left his mouth uncovered.

Their second release, "Transcendence" was a landmark and it garnered them much-deserved praise and attention, both at home and abroad. They had also discovered how hot the masks would be, so to keep the mystique, they cut them down into a "Phantom of the Opera" style. (After this tour, however, the masks would be retired.)

After this album's release, they performed at the 1989 Tampa Bay Music Awards and walked away with three awards that night - Most Outstanding Male Vocalist, Most Outstanding Local Release and Most Outstanding Metal Band (beating the band Savatage for this one). It was after this tour that drummer Dana Burnell and guitarist Ben Jackson left the group. Together, they would go on to form the group Parish, who released their first and only album, "Envision" in 1995, after which, the band dissolved.

Dana would be replaced by Ravi Jahkotia, who brought a more "tribal" feel to the band and the material they would write for their next album was based more on drum grooves as opposed to guitar riffs, on which their first two albums were largely based. It signified a bold and definite shift away from the metal sound upon which the band had built their reputation. It was at this time the band continued on as a four-piece.

The revamped group was then signed to Atlantic Records and released their third album, "Strange and Beautiful"' (Deep inside your heart is very pwetty!) . Prior to the start of the tour, vocalist Midnight departed as well, dropping into a self-imposed exile for almost a decade before anyone heard from him again. Guitarist Jon Drenning would move the band to Arizona and regroup the band twice, first as 'Crush', and then as 'Erotic Liquid Culture'. They would release one album under each name. Both albums are out of print and much sought-after by fans. Moving back to Florida after an almost five year hiatus, Jon Drenning reformed Crimson Glory. He welcomed Ben Jackson back into the band and found a replacement for Midnight in the form of Wade Black. This incarnation of the group would release "Astronomica" and following a brief tour, would go on hiatus again. Ben Jackson and Midnight have since busied themselves with solo careers.

Answering the demand of the fan base (affectionately known as the 'Crimson Militia'), Drenning reunited all the original members: vocalist Midnight, guitarist Ben Jackson, bassist Jeff Lords and after much secrecy and to the delight of the fans, drummer Dana Burnell. A surprising addition has been the inclusion of former Astronomica tour drummer Jesse Rojas, now backing up the group in live performances on percussion and some lead vocal work. Unfortunately, the reunion was not to last, and in late January 2007, Crimson Glory again parted ways with singer Midnight following the revelation that he was arrested on January 20, 2006 in Sarasota, Florida and charged with DUI. After Midnight's dismissal from the band, former vocalist Wade Black was brought back into the fold.

2007 promises the potential re-mastered reissues of the 1986 self-titled debut and 1988's "Transcendence", featuring previously unreleased tracks, along with an anthology box set entitled "Valley of Shadows, Kingdoms of Light" and DVD of a 1989 concert at the Manatee Civic Center. 2007 also promises the first new release from the group since 1999's Astronomica, tentatively titled "Metatron, Lucifer and the Divine Chaos".