Kotipelto - Biography




Stratovarius frontman Timo Kotipelto would release his debut solo album 'Waiting For The Dawn' through the German Century Media label. The record, a conceptual piece based on Egyptian mythology and clad in artwork by the famed Iron Maiden artist Derek Riggs proved to be much harder edged affair than the Symphonic inclinations of Stratovarius, boasted a major haul of guest sessioneers.

Included would be Stratovarius colleague Jari Kainulainen, Mike Romeo of Symphony X Roland Grapow of Helloween and Masterplan, Warmen's Sami Virtanen, Janne Warmen of Warmen and Children of Bodom, Mikko Harkin of Sonata Arctica, drummer Mirka Rantanen of Warmen, Thunderstone and Tunnelvisionand Gas from H.I.M.

Japanese versions of the album on the Avalon Marquee label added an exclusive track 'Secret Name'.

Kotipelto revealed plans for a follow up 2004 album billed as 'Coldness'. The preceding single, 'Reasons' issued in March, added an extended version of the track 'Viziers', which included an extended guitar solo from Symphony X guitarist Mike Romeo. Alongside Romeo's appearance on the Kotipelto produced album, the singer invited the cast of guitarist Juhani Malmberg of Tunnelvision, Jari Kainulainen on bass, Janne Wirman on keyboards and drummer Mirka Rantanen.