Triosphere - Biography



The Beginning

Triosphere was formed during the fall of 2004, by former Griffin guitarist Marcus Silver, singer/bassplayer Ida Haukland and drummer Ørjan Aare Jørgensen. They soon found their second guitar player in T.O Byberg.

Triosphere soon caught the attention of the Norwegian label Face Front who released their debut album Onwards in Norway during fall of 2006, and the rest of Europe in February 2007 through Plastic Head Distribution. Japanese label Spiritual Beast handled the release in Asia (November 2006) and the USA (late summer/fall 2007).

Onwards received an average of 8,5/10 in the reviews of both the national and the international press, and got their title track included on the prestigious Rock Hard sampler which features up-and-coming artists. Furthermore, Triosphere was voted into the Top 5 Best Bands of the Year in both 2006 and 2007, and Top 10 Best Bands of the Year 2008 by the readers of the leading metal magazine in Norway,- Scream Magazine.

Triosphere again caught the attention of Rock Hard Magazine in 2009 when the magazine featured the band as one of the 20 most promising new bands worldwide in their April issue. However, the band experienced one of their most humbling moments when they received the award for Metal Album of the Year from the worlds largest independent music organization, "Just Plain Folks Music Org." in the USA, August 2009, in competition with more than 80.000 artists in all genres around the world.


Triosphere have done two Norwegian tours with the legendary W.A.S.P., 2006 and 2007 respectively, and three European tours:
The first one was in early 2007 with Kotipelto, Chris Caffery, Kamelot, Jorn and W.A.S.P..
The second one was in late 2008 with Jorn, and finally the band toured with metal titans Arch Enemy and Destruction in December 2009.

In addition, Triosphere have co-headlined Swiss metal festival "Metal Inferno 2008" together with Threshold and done several Norwegian festivals featuring bands and artists like Sebastian Bach, Mayhem, Evergrey, After Forever, Enslaved, Kamelot, Soilwork, Volbeat, Dimmu Borgir and one-off's as support for Dio, amongst others.

2014 and beyond
With their first two album Onwards and The Road Less Travelled, Norwegian metal band Triosphere attained a fantastic reputation worldwide. They shared the stage with bands such as Nightwish, Jorn, Arch Enemy and many others. Especially after their latest album The Road Less Travelled, which was released in May 2010, the band around vocalist/bass player Ida Haukland was busy touring Europe. First with Crimson Glory, then with Kamelot and lately with Sonata Arctica. Also Haukland took part in the Epysode project, where she sang a duet with Evergrey's Tom S. Englund (on the album Fantasmagoria, from 2013).

Now Triosphere are finally back with a brand new piece of work, titled The Heart Of The Matter. Even more confident, unique and improved, the band delivers a slice of high-class melodic metal music, cleverly mixing power metal, progressive metal and a few contemporary rock elements to forge their very own sound. Dynamics, variety, and a keen sense of strong melodies - combined with the unmistakable voice of Haukland - have become Triopshere's trademarks; as displayed perfectly throughout the whole new record. Tracks like "My Fortress," "The Heart's Dominion," or "Relentless" combine Triosphere's edgy nature and heavy riffing with catchy vocal melodies. "Departure" and "As I Call" appear even more melodic and towards the end of the journey, "The Sphere" and "Storyteller" increase the progressive share, before "Virgin Ground" shows the very sensitive side of the band. After 4 years in the making you'll get 12 songs for a full hour of uniquely honest and hard-hitting music; from the most heavy to the most calm, from intricate to classic, all led by intelligent melodies and passionate lyrics about the heart of the matter. No compromise, no single frame of genre. Just pure heart. The Heart Of The Matter was mixed and mastered by one of the best producers, the acclaimed Jens Bogren (a. o. Opeth, Paradise Lost, Symphony X, Amon Amarth, Kreator) at Fascination Street studios, Sweden.

Source: AFM Records promotional sheet