Níobeth - Biography

This band's profile is 'invisible', meaning that it's much less prominent on the site - either because it's incomplete, or maybe doesn't entirely fit MS format.




The idea of the band came up in Albacete in the summer of 2004 from the meeting between Itea Benedicto (vocals and composition) and Jesús Díez (guitars and composition), although it is in the Summer of 2005 when the line up begins to consolidate and the first concerts take place.

Niobeth's characteristic style put together powerful riffs and drums with an important melodic charge, great orchestration and lyrical voice, getting influences from several Metal genres (like thrash, progressive, gothic, power...) as well as from Classical Music (specially from Baroque and Romanticism) and, sometimes, from Folk. In their songs it's usual to find passages of high elegance and with a lot of arrangements, sometimes with some theatricality.

In 2006 they recorded their first studio demo, under the name "Infinite Ocean Of Stars", which includes 6 tracks. In the months after the demo was completed, some changes in the formation happen, joining the band Santi Tejedor (keyboard and violin) and Alberto Trigueros (drums). From that moment on, the band takes part on several festivals and begins to give concerts in several towns of Spain.

In the beginning of 2008 the band temporally stops their live shows to focus in the songs which will compose their first album.

The album, under the name "The Shining Harmony Of Universe", is recorded in August and September of 2008 in the Nazgul Sound studios in Valencia, Spain, produced by Fernando Asensi. The album is finally released in Spain in October 2008 under the label Molusco Discos.

The album has a length of 70 minutes and a total of 13 tracks. It includes the cover of the Queen Of The Night Aria from "The Magic Flute" by Mozart and a bonus track, "Kowasani Furuete", with the lyrics in Japanese language in what is a humble homage to the victims of the nuclear attacks at Hiroshima and Nagasaki.

There are several guest musicians in the recording: Lourdes Guillén (flute, piccolo and ocarina), Juanba Nadal (bass), Orfeón de la Mancha (choir), as well as the presence of other instruments as the whistle, the bagpipe, the violin, etc.

The album has been release in Japan under the label Rubicon Music, with release date in stores of September 2009. The Japanese edition includes the song "Dreaming" as an exclusive bonus track and a DVD with the "The Whisper Of Rain" videoclip and additional material.

"The Shining Harmony Of Universe" has received great reviews in the media, both national and international, with reviews as:

"The perfect union between metal and classical music. The elegance and pulchritude of classical music hold hands with the strength, heaviness and power of heavy metal inside of baroque and progressive structures that invite to discover new corners in every listen".

Some months before the Japanese release, the band presents the videoclip for the single "The Whisper Of Rain", with the participation of the television actresses Cristina Alvis and Iris Lezcano.

Among the last concerts of the band there are the album presentation tour (The Shining Tour), which have carried them to the best venues of Spain, the Viña Rock festival 2009 (with an attendance of more than 50.000 people), the concert at the prestigious Circus Theater accompanied by the choir "Orfeón de la Mancha" and the Spanish tour with the Norwegian band Sirenia in the month of September 2009.

After the release of the Dreaming EP, for which the benefits were donated to the Red Cross to help the Haiti victims of the 2010 Earthquake, the band focused completely on the recording of the new material. Javi Palacios (bass) and Alberto "AT" Izquierdo (drums) joined the band and the sound became even stronger and more solid.

The new album, "Silvery Moonbeams", was recorded in Italy, mixed in Spain and mastered in Finland by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios and was released in Europe in September of 2011 under Aural Music / Dreamcell11 / Wormholedeath. It is composed of 12 tracks including one song in Spanish and one over 15 minutes. Also, the album includes a classical music cover for "Polovtsian Dances" from Prince Igor by A. Borodin as well as one song with supporting male vocals. The new album is an important step on a musical and conceptual level for the band.

(Source: band's website)