Ordinance - Biography



Ordinance is a four-piece progressive death metal act based out of Frederick, Maryland. The band is comprised of vocalist Mike Semesky, guitarist Greg Macklin, guitarist Gunter Ostendorp, and drummer Alex Rudinger. Originated by Macklin and Rudinger in 2009 as a two-piece outfit, Ordinance joined forces with guitarist Ostendorp shortly thereafter, and began writing for the debut album Internal Monologues.

Throughout the writing process, each new song found its way to YouTube via Rudinger's drum video releases, which brought about an ever-growing online audience, waiting for a product from the trio. The vision of the album and pressure from an eager fan base led quickly to the tracking of guitars, bass, and drums in early 2010. After the addition of Semesky that October and vocal tracking completed by the end of the month, the band line-up was solidified.

The debut album Internal Monologues was engineered and produced by the band's own Greg Macklin as well as Dustin Miller of Audio Aggregate Recordings. The album was released worldwide on July 26th, 2011 and immediately received overwhelming reviews along with substantial growth in online followers. The band intends to perform live in fall 2011 and is currently working on their second full-length album.