Advertise on Metal Storm
Metal news


in titles    in text

Priority filter

Arch Enemy - Two Re-Recorded Songs Released

Original news, posted on 16.08.2009

Official press release

On September 28th, 2009 Swedish metallers Arch Enemy will release their new studio album "The Root Of All Evil" in Europe. It contains a selection of completely re-recorded tracks from the band's first three albums "Black Earth" (1996), "Stigmata" (1998) and "Burning Bridges" (1999) reenergized and upgraded by the band's definitive line-up.

Originally recorded with ever changing band members (i.e. former vocalist Johan Liiva, drummer Peter Wildoer, bass player Martin Bengtsson), "The Root Of All Evil" presents classic Arch Enemy tracks with the insane vocals of Angela Gossow, several completely new bass lines by Sharlee D'Angelo, the ever-present guitar wizardry of the Amott brothers as well as Daniel Erlandsson's merciless punch. The entire project was approached with the idea of having the possibility to re-add these songs to the bands live set and follow up the release with some special touring activity.....

Now, a first track of this stunning release has been launched at the band's official MySpace page, check out "Beast Of Man" at

Guitarist Michael Amott comments: "So the time has arrived for a first taste of 'The Root Of All Evil'! The song "Beast Of Man" was originally written as a last minute addition to the "Stigmata" album back in 1998. Daniel (Erlandsson) had just returned to the Arch Enemy drum throne and I wrote this one and another song called "Diva Satanica" in a day or two. Christopher (Amott) had the cool harmonized mid section part and that was that, we went into the studio and rehearsed, recorded and mixed them in a marathon 24 hour session. It was OK at the time, but I always thought the songs deserved a little more love and attention.

The 2009 version of this song is really heads and shoulders above the original in my opinion. The song was always cool, but the production on the original was quite poor, more like a demo really. I am very pleased that we did this "Root Of All Evil" project and that we can give these songs a "new life"... Enjoy the "Beast Of Man"!"


Arch Enemy have posted a second track off their upcoming release, "The Root of All Evil", on the official Arch Enemy MySpace page. "Bury Me An Angel" joins "Beast of Man" as the first tracks to be posted off the new album, which is due out on October 6th on Century Media Records.


Band profile: Arch Enemy
Posted: 24.09.2009 by Mega Wolf | Comments (5)