Funeral - To Release The Formerly Unreleased

Solitude Productions proudly presents the legendary Norwegian band Funeral's album To Mourn Is A Virtue. This release is the missing link between the classic albums Tragedies (1995) and In Fields Of Pestilent Grief (2002). This album is based on unreleased demo-recordings, and contains nine previously unreleased tracks that were recorded between 1996 and 2004, sent into orbit in the International Space Station, later jettisoned and crashed in the middle of the Indian Ocean, recovered, and, finally, remastered in 2010, almost 15 years (and several hundred orbits of Earth) after they were initially recorded.

The CD comes in an awesome looking digibook package limited to 999 copies.

To Mourn Is A Virtue tracklist:

01. Hunger
02. God?
03. Your Pain Is Mine
04. The Rest…
05. Dancing In A Liquid Veil
06. How Death May Linger
07. Father
08. Blood From The Soil
09. Wrapped All In Woe

(The masters may or may not have been launched into orbit... most likely not. But they were recorded many, many years ago. People believe some or all of the tracks in Ulver's Nattens Madrigal were recorded in the middle of a forest... yeah. They plugged their gear into fir trees for power? So who knows, maybe 10 years from now people will claim this was recorded on the International Space Station.)

Band profile: Funeral
Posted: 26.05.2011 by BitterCOld


‹‹ Back to News
Comments: 3   Visited by: 45 users
27.05.2011 - 16:35
I don't know this band, but it's sad they haven't got any comment under this article, so here you go
Non serviam
27.05.2011 - 19:34
From These Wounds album is unsurpassable
29.05.2011 - 08:21
Black Conundrum
Sweet idea to release this. I would definitely like a copy, although I can't promise I will order one. Funeral is a great band.

Hits total: 2988 | This month: 13