Jodis - Reveal New Album Details

US metal band Jodis (featuring members of Khanate, Isis, Mamiffer, Blind Idiot God, Khlyst and Old Man Gloom) will release their second album Black Curtain, the follow-up to 2007's Secret House, on October 2nd this year through Hydra Head Records. The album's artwork and tracklist can be seen below. Black Curtain will be available via limited vinyl LP, CD, and digital.

The following press release was issued: "After several years of steady concentrated work, Jodis have returned with their sophomore album, Black Curtain. Once again, the trio's emphasis on sparseness and tension remains in full force, but is tempered by a greater focus on melody and slow blooming song structure. While its predecessor thrived on a kind of predatory patience, Black Curtain's reserve is more of a salve than a threat."

"The album opens with "Broken Ground", where spikes of reverb-drenched guitar sprawl across a humming electronic horizon, over which delicately draped vocal melodies twist, collide and dissolve. Drums occasionally rise from the ether, punctuating the meditative passages of pastoral calm. The band continues to explore the many outlets of their panoramic minimalism across the airy expanses of "Silent Temple", the shimmering melancholy of "Red Bough", the hymn-like repetition of "Corridor", and the mantric chants of "Awful Feast". The more visceral and vitriolic elements of Jodis's members' past work are put on hold for the majority of Black Curtain. But the thunderous low-tuned throbs of guitar and strong-armed pounding of the drums rear their head in the closing track "Beggar's Grasp". Even in this rousing close to the album, the harmonious core is retained, and the listener is immersed in the depths of the sound around them, rather than mercilessly suffocated by it. Black Curtain is no doubt heavy - emotionally, even sonically - but its true strength lies in its graceful reserve and reverential worship of gray-skied beauty."

Black Curtain CD tracklist:

01. Broken Ground
02. Silent Temple
03. Red Bough
04. Corridor
05. Awful Feast
06. Beggar's Hand

Black Curtain Vinyl tracklist:

01. Broken Ground
02. Silent Temple
03. Awful Feast
04. Red Bough
05. Corridor
06. Beggar's Grasp

Band profile: Jodis
Posted: 17.08.2012 by Abattoir

Hits total: 1235 | This month: 5