Canadian progressive metal mastermind Devin Townsend is gearing up for one of his biggest accomplishments to date: The Retinal Circus. This one-night only event, which is set to take place at London's historic Roundhouse venue on October 27th, has been sold out for over a year now. Now Devin has partnered with LiveMusicStage.com to allow fans across the globe unable to attend this musical sideshow and stream the event live.

Tickets are available at this location. Then on October 27th at 7pm (GMT - which is 8pm CET, 2pm EST, 11am PST, 2am Perth, 3am Tokyo, 5am Melbourne time etc.) head back over to that location, log in with your ticket number and watch the folly unfold.



Devin describes The Retinal Circus as "a retrospective of my career in music to date, with the central theme being a metaphor of how life and the adventures therein are a 'circus' of sorts. The show involves a cast of characters and guests that support this theme through carnival type performances. A story about how a troubled young man dreams of fantastic scenarios, (illustrated through the music of my back catalogue), which ultimately crests in the characters realization that life is all about the relationships we have with each other. This is the first opportunity I have been given to make theatrical representations of my music."

This three hour plus performance will include:

  • A retrospective of Devin Townsend's entire career
  • Full choir and theatrical cast
  • Visual and aural enhancements unlike any show Devin has done to date
  • Several special guests
  • Circus and carnival performances and cast
  • Art exhibit of Devin's albums including explanations of each album.

    Initial show details have been previously reported over here. The Retinal Circus will be recorded for both DVD and Blu-ray, likely to be released sometime 2nd quarter 2013 via InsideOut.


    Source: insideoutmusic.com
    Band profile: Devin Townsend
    Event: Devin Townsend - The Retinal Circus
  •  
    Posted: 09.10.2012 by RcK



    Comments

    ‹‹ Back to the News
    Comments: 7  
    Users visited: 140  
    Search this topic:  


    Lit. - 09.10.2012 at 20:21  
    *girly squeal*
    BloodTears - 09.10.2012 at 20:24  
    Written by Lit. on 09.10.2012 at 20:21

    *girly squeal*


    You did the same thing as I did Actually considering this...
    White Death - 09.10.2012 at 20:44  
    I'll watch this online for sure, I can't wait
    chronic-headache - 10.10.2012 at 04:03  
    Any chance for a DVD release?
    henrihell93 - 10.10.2012 at 10:44  
    Written by chronic-headache on 10.10.2012 at 04:03

    Any chance for a DVD release?

    Didn't you read the article? A DVD and Blu-Ray release will come, probably during the second half of 2013...
    qlacs - 10.10.2012 at 10:50  
    Hmm. hmm hmm
    chronic-headache - 10.10.2012 at 15:51  
    My bad, didn't read it all the way through. Very excited for this nonetheless

    Advertise on Metal Storm


    Login or register to post here.



    Similar topics

    Forum Topic Similarity Started
    News Devin Townsend - 'Z2' Details And Special Royal Albert Hall Show 9 02.09.2014 by Zaphod
    News Devin Townsend - To Perform A Special Show Next October 9 05.12.2011 by Unhealer
    News Devin Townsend - New Song Streaming Online 7.5 07.09.2012 by Opethian
    News Devin Townsend - Another New Track Online 7.5 13.02.2011 by Baz Anderson
    News Devin Townsend - Two New Songs Online 7.5 24.05.2011 by Introspekrieg



    Hits total: 1730 | This month: 29