Saxon - To Release Collection Of Reworked Songs

British heavy metal legends Saxon have produced a series of alternative takes on the band's classic favourites that will be released under the name Unplugged And Strung Up. It will contain a selection of unique, fresh and adventurous interpretations of 14 songs.

Recorded, mixed and mastered with Andy Sneap in Derbyshire, U.K. earlier this year, Unplugged And Strung Up contains re-worked and re-energized versions of "The Eagle Has Landed" and "Crusader" by introducing orchestral dynamics to offer added dimension. "Frozen Rainbow", from the band's 1979 debut, gets an acoustic reprisal while "Red Star Falling" soars and sweeps the emotions with its orchestral arranged dovetail.

Saxon fans and collectors can also purchase a digipak version of the release which will include 2002's set of re-recorded hits Heavy Metal Thunder featuring "Motorcycle Man", "Strong Arm Of The Law" and "Dallas 1pm".

The standard single CD of Unplugged And Strung Up will come in a jewel case, and a double-vinyl gatefold sleeve version of the release will also be available. The digipak will be a two-disc version of the release featuring the bonus disc Heavy Metal Thunder, and there will be a digital release of the same.

Unplugged And Strung Up tracklist:

01. Stallions Of The Highway [remix]
02. Crusader [orchestral version]
03. Battle Cry
04. The Eagle Has Landed [orchestral version]
05. Red Star Falling [orchestral version]
06. Broken Heroes [orchestral version]
07. Call To Arms [orchestral version]
08. Militia Guard
09. Forever Free [re-recorded version]
10. Just Let Me Rock [re-recorded version]
11. Frozen Rainbow [acoustic version]
12. Iron Wheels [live acoustic version]
13. Requiem [acoustic version]
14. Coming Home [acoustic version]

Heavy Metal Thunder tracklist:

01. Heavy Metal Thunder
02. Strong Arm Of The Law
03. Power & The Glory
04. And The Bands Played On
05. Crusader
06. Dallas 1pm
07. Princess Of The Night
08. Wheels Of Steel
09. 747 (Strangers In The Night)
10. Motorcycle Man
11. Never Surrender
12. Denim & Leather
13. Backs To The Wall

Band profile: Saxon
Posted: 19.09.2013 by Bad English

Hits total: 857 | This month: 4