Metal Storm logo
Guitar Tips

24.12.2007 - 07:32
Torture Killer
Account deleted
I love to play thrash metal, but my wrist just sometimes doesn't have the juice to make it through some songs, especially when it comes to down picking, i've been playing for about 4-5 years and i'm fed up with it, it bugs the hell out of me, and i was wondering maybe if someone had some tips to help besides 'practice makes perfect'.

And feel free to post any other tips or tricks you have that you think could help other players.
24.12.2007 - 08:12
Too many fail.

A lot of thrash bands pulse in 4s, i saw a nile clip where they said they pulse in 8s because its easier for your wrist. you might wanna try something like that with songs that are too brutal for your picking hand and maybe later pulse in 4s if you feel like the song needs it.
----
Here is my actual theory beyond the huge, hilarious jokes I have: If you're so pro-life and you're so pro-child, then adopt one that's already here, that's very unwanted and very alone and needs someone to take care of it.
- Bill Hicks
24.12.2007 - 09:10
BurbotsRevenge
Foetal Butchery
i sometimes have the same problem when constant down picking and string skipping is used its very frustrating
----
Dark death metal from Sydney: https://www.facebook.com/GolgothanRemains
24.12.2007 - 09:25
Torture Killer
Account deleted
I did read a column in a magazine by dave mustaine and he said when you down pick really fast its good to ball up your fingers kinda like a wierd fist as apposed to fanning them out which would mean more inersia would be used, it helped a lot surprisingly.
24.12.2007 - 09:39
BurbotsRevenge
Foetal Butchery
yeh, i can actually see how that works, and ive tryed it, itdoes work surprisingly well but looks rally weird yes
----
Dark death metal from Sydney: https://www.facebook.com/GolgothanRemains
24.12.2007 - 18:53
Smurfophagist