Metal Storm logo
Save The Whale!

16.06.2006 - 22:44
Señor Three T
Account deleted
I'm going to tell of the recent developments in the Whaling World in very simple terms, not only because this will allow more people to participate in the discussion but also because I'm not too good with facts or figures or getting things right.

Commercial whaling has been outlawed for, ooh, ages now thanks to the work of your hippy parents and grandparents in the Sixties, but recently the Japanese (featured as the bad guys in such factually accurate war films as "Superman goes APE in Tokyo City" and "How to Kill Evil Races for Kids 2") have been leading the way for its reintroduction.

Now, the Japanese aren't playing as fairly as one would expect from a country on the losing side in World War 2 - after all, the German football team is renowned for its sportsmanship and complete lack of cheating, lying, dirty, wretched behaviour (especially when playing against England) - Japan is so keen to start whaling again that it is calling not only on other traditional whaling nations such as Norway to support its bid, but also on countries with no history of whaling - and, unbelievably, also getting support from countries with no coastline.

And so it all looks rather depressing from the point of view of the poor old whales, who are only just starting to recover from centuries of being killed for their blubber. And don't forget that whales are intelligent, rare creatures with a complicated language which can be heard for miles. I'm not suggesting, of course, that the Japanese are unintelligent, common people with a stupid language and an uncommon affection for the use of mobile phones to communicate, but you get my point.

Many of the great whale species are already nearly extinct, and a regrowth of commercial whaling spearheaded by Japan would undo the good conservation work done over the last few decades. Discuss.

And go here: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/5085706.stm