Metal Storm logo
Bass players

30.06.2006 - 16:14
belgianmetalman
Account deleted
Well, I just like to know who the bass players on this forum are, the bass is not to be underestimated ...
I play bass myself, pretty shitty gear actually .. I'm playing exactly one year right now.
An adonis four strings, and a Stagg 80W amplifier, it's just doable to play in a band
Monday I'm recording a demo
I love to play rock and metal (of course) Iron Maiden - Hallowed be thy name and Dream of Mirrors are heaven!

So .. What's your gear ? Favorite songs to play on the bass ? Band ?
30.06.2006 - 16:44
Endoftherainbow
I've been playing bass for about 4 years now and the bass I play is an Ibanez 4 string and I have a 500w Ibanez bass amp. I currently don't have a band but I am looking to start one only I want to play guitar in it not bass. My favorite things to play are Symphony X, Tool, The Mars Volta, Mastodon, Death, and I used to play alot of Iron Maiden. Basically I like to play anything that's challenging. Steve DiGiorgio, Michael LePond, Victor Wooten, Justin Chancellor, Steve Harris, Geezer Butler, and Martin Mendez are my favorite bass players and influenced my style the most.
30.06.2006 - 19:36
Ibanez07
Account deleted
Finally! A bass thread! Despite what it looks like due to my posts previous, I consider myself to first and foremost be a bassist.

I own an Ibanez Iceman [4-string], and an Ibanez RD505 [5-string], and I'm looking to get an Ibanez SRX705 [when I get the money]. I play out of a used Ampeg B2R Head, and a Hartke 115 paper cab [around 200 watts].

As for musical inclination- as a bassist I'm a HUGE fan of Tool, Mudvayne, and Black Label Society [for the bassists mainly, love the music too]. I'd have to say my biggest influence is in fact Justin Chancellor of Tool, strictly because he is so innovative, doesn't limit himself to just 1 string [at a time!] or playing style, and he can get really heavy tone out of his fretless.
30.06.2006 - 21:05
Basso