Metal Storm logo
Your Evolution on your Instruments

30.09.2009 - 10:26
Saitenhexerin
I was just curious how other players evolved. What were the first songs/riffs you played, did you always play metal, and where you are now!
and what you aspire to?

I can remember starting off, trying to play Nothing Else Matters on our old and battered acoustic.
Then the first "punkish" songs came, along with Iron Maiden Intros and melodies...such as Fear of the Dark.
After some time I started playing Thrash, today I am able to play most songs I want to play. Currently I am completely taken over by Sylosis and learning to play their songs. And I try to play Trivium solos...and want to be faster at sweep picking!

so far...
----
- When I die, bury me in smoke.
- Defendress of the Faith.
30.09.2009 - 14:52
Valentin B
Iconoclast
I'd say my first ever riff was the intro of Metallica's Nothing Else Matters, and then i just started playing whatever songs i liked on my acoustic guitar which i had back then like Breaking the Law, Seasons in the Abyss by Slayer, etc.

first full song was probably Knocking on Heaven's Door by Bob Dylan.

ATM i have a huge song-catalog(about 60 known full or almost full songs including 4 from my band) and still counting some of my favorites include:
Scorpions - Big City Nights
Judas Priest - The Green Manalishi, You Got Another Thing Comin'
Manowar - Metal Daze
WASP - Wild Child
08.10.2009 - 20:08
ANGEL REAPER
I've started with synth when i were 8(yeah the teacher made us by some crapy ,Chinese synth).Back then i knew to play only few folklore songs.Then with 10 i played a piano at school(ok no laugh at audience!).
But it wasn't anything serious .