‹‹ Back to the General metal forum
Users visited: 47  
Search this topic:  

torwar

02.11.2010 at 12:36
I cannot think of any "objective" criteria at all. It's a very personal thing when I rate an album 10. OK, it's gotta be an album with no weak seconds...or at least just a few. Then again it's not perfect, is it? Even those one and a half minute which is not good should only make it "excellent"?

I am one of those unfortunate, who cannot translate my musical "feelings" into words...into a review. I'm not a musician. I'm not really into the technical terms. And I do like a lot of different genres within metal as well as outside the world of metal. One day I may need to listen to old stuff AC-DC, next I need Opeth. Followed by Behemoth. Or Iron Maiden. And how to compare these bands? Guess it says more about myself that I like different "genres"/"styles".....

"Quality" is another difficult criteria. I'm not a big fan of eg Blind Guardian, but I can at least acknowledge that they're great musicians, who compose quite complex and clever metal. I prefer to listen eg Drudkh, but I am in position to argue why....other than Drudkh puts me on many "emotional journeys"...and Blind Guardian doesn't.....

So: What's your reason for rating an album as perfect?
Ellrohir
Heaven Knight

02.11.2010 at 12:52
When i really, really enjoy all or almost all songs of the album and i love to return to this album => rating 10
----
The bones of beasts and the bones of kings
Become dust in the wake of the hymn
Mighty kingdoms rise, but they all will fall
No more than a breath on the wind

Mikyz

02.11.2010 at 14:54