Metal Storm logo
Funeral Doom piece

20.12.2010 - 21:29
ferm
I'm trying to create a Funeral Doom(ish)-piece and I can't get it to sound "Funeral" enough. It sounds to "doomy" like Electric Wizard-stuff or something like that. Someone have any tips? What tuning do you think I should use? (I'm using D-tuning now). How do you do when getting inspiration?

I know exactly what I want but it's just something that is missing....
21.12.2010 - 13:23
KryptoN
imperceptible
I'm not an expert in this, but I kind of tackled this area slightly with one of my own albums and learned a few things.

Much of the funeral feel has to do with both the sound texture and the structure actually. The texture usually is a bit blurry or "ethereal", just requires some fiddling with effects I guess. Going low with the tuning can help, could maybe go even as low as B (which is my favorite tuning) but maybe that's not a viable option for you (depending on the strings you have). A more subtle usage of distortion probably works better than extreme distortion, but there are exceptions. The scales used is probably the biggest element. If your stuff ends up sounding like Electric Wizard, you're probably not playing in the appropriate key. Funeral doom is almost always in a minor key, which achieves the depressive/sad feel quite automatically. Try playing around with some octave chords as well. Also, funeral doom usually has very subtle or almost stealthy progressions, so if you're trying to evolve the song too fast it ends up sounding rushed which obviously destroys the funeral feel (one of the reasons these songs are usually very long).