Metal Storm logo
Guitar noob seeks easy songs (read first post)

Original post

Posted by -tom-, 27.09.2006 - 23:22
hi. i recently started learning to play guitar. im a bit lost for what to attempt to learn to start off with. i want songs that are quite easy to learn and easy to recognise when you're playing them, and not something as simple as ramones songs.

an example would be enter sandman. this is the only song that ive started to learn that i think is really helping.

basically, if you play guitar, what songs were useful for you when you were just a beginner.
02.09.2007 - 11:49
Remus
Written by iMPERiAL_iCE on 14.02.2007 at 11:34

Metallica - Master Of Puppets (2\3 speed or slower then eventually go up the tempo this is to train ur right hand basically..)
Kalmah - Withering Away
Iced Earth - Pure Evil[/i] (can be a bit hard at the beginning but its nice when u've mastered it)

I'm sorry to say this, but none of those songs are easy on guitar. MoP has some really fast palm-mutes, Withering Away has some fast tremolo's and the alternative picking is definately not easy and Pure Evil? Jeez dude, those sextuplets at the begining of the song - you think those are easy? As a matter of fact pretty much every single riff on that song is pretty difficult! Maybe to you all these songs are easy, but mr Lion is a n00b, remember ?

So i would recommend "TNT" by Ac/Dc, someone said "War" by Burzum - that's easy as well(BTW did u notice how Bullet for my Valentine stole the intro-riff from that song and used in their "Hand of Blood"?) and "Sad but True" from Metallica. Being a guitar pooh-pooh myself, i can say that those songs are not that difficult.
----
Procrastinate, NOW!
02.09.2007 - 19:44
iMPERiAL_iCE
Weeping Heart
Written by Remus on 02.09.2007 at 11:49

Written by iMPERiAL_iCE on 14.02.2007 at 11:34

Metallica - Master Of Puppets (2\3 speed or slower then eventually go up the tempo this is to train ur right hand basically..)
Kalmah - Withering Away