Metal Storm logo
Best Guitar Bodies?

Original post

Posted by Soliloquy, 19.01.2007 - 15:28
sorry, this is my first poll. still trying to figure out how stuff works....

anywho, this is the place for you to rant about certain shaps of certain guitars. or if you find nothing wrong with em, how do they compare to other guitars?

for example, since Strats are most common guitar shapes, say you pick that. now, name which you prefer. the Fendre strat, or the Ibanez strat(with more pointy horns). say why they are better than all the other guitars. and say what guitars you have and/or havent tried

for me: i'm still new to all this. i only have a strat that i've been playing for almost 2 years. i recently bought a guitar with a Les Paul body, and am dreading it! the les paul body is making it impossible for me to do solos on. the place where the neck/body meet is way too fat, preventing my thumb to support my fingers. no wonder you dont see that many metal lead guitarists with les pauls(excluding Slash and Buckethead). i have also tried a Jackson King V, and a Jackson Rhandy Roads and think they both are really comfortable guitars to play standing up, and sitting down. what i like about the V is that since its body is so different, it makes it so easy to reach the higher frets(after the 17th fret), as is the case with Rhandy Roads. how ever, one thing i dont like about the V is the place where they put their Jack(not all V's have their Jacks in the same spot!). if you're playing it while sitting down, its patch cord starts digging into you. thtas where the Rhandy Roads wins. but V's i found, to be lighter. so a lil give and take...

one thing i dont get is why V guitars(flying, king, or rhandy roads) are looked down upon by the rockers. they say that 'V guitars are for fake metalers'....i guess in taht case, Kerry King, Rhadny Roads, Alexi, Buckethead and others are all fake guitarists....

here are pictures of em if you havent seen em before:

Strat: