Rating:
4.5
Queensrÿche - Dedicated To Chaos
28 June 2011


01. Get Started
02. Hot Spot Junkie
03. Got It Bad
04. Around The World
05. Higher
06. Retail Therapy
07. At The Edge
08. Broken
09. Hard Times
10. Drive
11. I Believe
12. Luvnu
13. Wot We Do
14. I Take You
15. The Lie
16. Big Noize


Dedicated To Chaos was a very expected album, at least, by me. After the so well acclaimed 2009 album, American Soldier, I was "jumping with excitement" knowing that they would release a new album in so short notice.

The newest release by one of the most influential bands in progressive rock history, was for me a complete disappointment after listening to the entire album. It came to me as a surprise seeing the band perform in such low profile. The only good track in this album is "Broken", that is definitely one of the most dramatic and sad songs in rock history. The track brings the best of the band, the voice of Geoff Tate is filled with so much feeling and emotion that it makes my eyes become filled with tears. The instrumental arrangement is not amazing but it's perfect for the song required and the voice expressed by Geoff. Unfortunately, the good vibes and great songs ended with the song mentioned above. This album is completely uninspired, looking like a band that should stop for a while with their activities, each member should try some side projects, something alternative so that when they returned, the band would make a triumphant comeback. It's sad to me that a band like Queensrÿche with so much history, with so many amazing releases such as Operation: Mindcrime or Empire, would dare to make an album that is so different from the rest of the things the band as ever made, but also so alternative and so bad as this album is. Maybe the band should have continued with the American Soldier album, if they wanted to do something so different, they should have continued with a very sentimental and sad style, like the "Broken" track or the 2009 album, that puts in the table the best of the band in a different context from the progressive style.

Dedicated To Chaos comes to me as a complete disappointment, far too much publicity for something that is not worth it. I hope Queensrÿche stop to think what is the direction of the band, what kind of albums they want to give to the fans and admirers. In 16 tracks only one is worth something, like I mentioned above. All in all, Queensrÿche should be remembered by the great things they have done throughout the years and not by the newest release. The band has such an amazing discography both recent and old that impresses every good listener and everyone who understands music.

Performance: 6
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Queensrÿche
Album: Dedicated To Chaos


 


written by AndMetalForAll | 26.12.2011


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Slayer666

Rating:
3.5
2011 is truly a fine year, that I will not deny. But then again, we've had quite a number of releases that reach such abysmal depths of quality that they somehow even manage to outshine and draw more attention to themselves than the stellar records much more deserving of attention. While Dedicated To Chaos doesn't exactly hit the absolute and complete rock-bottom like some 2011 albums we've been blessed with, calling it total shit mostly hits the mark.

Read more ››
published 07.11.2011 | Comments (5)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 6  
Users visited: 63  
Search this topic:  


Warman - 26.12.2011 at 20:25  
"the so well acclaimed 2009 album, American Soldier"?
Huh? Did I miss something?
thehondo - 28.12.2011 at 03:17  
Queensryche...wow...uh, "wot" happened?
Angelic Storm - 29.12.2011 at 02:01  
Written by Warman on 26.12.2011 at 20:25

"the so well acclaimed 2009 album, American Soldier"?
Huh? Did I miss something?


Yup... It was well acclaimed, who by? :\

"American Soldier" was a very weak album, although perhaps not quite as bad as this latest one. "Operation Mindcrime 2" is the only decent album Queensryche have put out since Chris De Garmo left the band.
Warman - 29.12.2011 at 12:43  
Written by Angelic Storm on 29.12.2011 at 02:01

"American Soldier" was a very weak album, although perhaps not quite as bad as this latest one. "Operation Mindcrime 2" is the only decent album Queensryche have put out since Chris De Garmo left the band.

Agreed. I liked "Operation: Mindcrime II" and think it's their one good album since "Promised Land".
AndMetalForAll - 30.12.2011 at 19:29  
Written by Angelic Storm on 29.12.2011 at 02:01

Written by Warman on 26.12.2011 at 20:25

"the so well acclaimed 2009 album, American Soldier"?
Huh? Did I miss something?


Yup... It was well acclaimed, who by? :\

"American Soldier" was a very weak album, although perhaps not quite as bad as this latest one. "Operation Mindcrime 2" is the only decent album Queensryche have put out since Chris De Garmo left the band.


I respect your opinion but in terms of quality, Operation mindcrime II is a good album, very well performed and written. Regarding American Soldier I don't agree with you, i think it has a very nice concept, dedicated to the american soldiers, but it's also a album where the band experiences something different of their style. In terms of experiment i think it's one of the bands that were more successful in trying new things. It was acclaimed, not much as Operation Mindicrime II it didn't sold as much, but it was a respected album unlike this one.

greets,
AndMetalForAll
Angelic Storm - 31.12.2011 at 06:50  
Written by AndMetalForAll on 30.12.2011 at 19:29
I respect your opinion but in terms of quality, Operation mindcrime II is a good album, very well performed and written. Regarding American Soldier I don't agree with you, i think it has a very nice concept, dedicated to the american soldiers, but it's also a album where the band experiences something different of their style. In terms of experiment i think it's one of the bands that were more successful in trying new things. It was acclaimed, not much as Operation Mindicrime II it didn't sold as much, but it was a respected album unlike this one.

greets,
AndMetalForAll


The only real way I can view Mindcrime II in a negative light, is if I comapare it with the original Mindcrime. And as a sequel album, it's impossible not to draw that comparison. However, as a standalone album, it's actually pretty good, and is the only post-Degarmo album that has any of the energy, hooks, and songwriting nuance of Queensryche at their best. As for "American Soldier", I fully respect your opinion, but I personally feel the album was a failed experiment.. The concept is a great one, I agree. But sadly, for the most part the music fails to do the concept justice. As for it being acclaimed, I can only say I personally haven't seen much acclaim for the album, or even for Mindcrime II for that matter. "Dedicated To Chaos" is worse than "American Soldier" though, no doubt about it.

@Warman: I actually think "Hear In The Now Frontier" has some great songs on it. The problem with that album, is it's overlong, and has too much filler. But it does contain some good songs which are miles better than anything done after Chris left, barring Mindcrime II.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Queensrÿche - Dedicated To Chaos 7 07.11.2011 by JohnDoe
Albums Queensrÿche - Dedicated To Chaos 6 28.03.2011 by JohnDoe
Reviews Machine Head - The Blackening 3 02.12.2011 by BitterCOld
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - From Chaos To Eternity 2.5 12.06.2011 by The Shape 1973
Reviews Kristendom - Awakening The Chaos 2.5 04.10.2006 by



Hits total: 1700 | This month: 36