Burning The Masses - Mind Control review


9 users:
Band: Burning The Masses
Album: Mind Control
Release date: October 2008

01. Cinema
02. Paroxysm Of Fear
03. Mind Control
04. Moltres
05. Cyanide
06. Gerascophobia
07. Chupacabra
08. Arms Raised, Eyes Closed
09. Nailgun Massacre
10. Euphoria Ends
11. Prodigy
12. Galactic Abduction

Burning The Masses was a completely new band to me up until recently... and I must say, this is good stuff! It's technical and it leaves you with a need for more. This album is great, and I'd recommend it to anybody who is still a little wary about deathcore.

Burning The Masses is a technical deathcore band from the good ol' US of A. Now when I say technical deathcore, I mean it; this band knows how to play their instruments, and they show it off on Mind Control. The riffs are delicious, succulent, and flavourful, and don't even get me started on the solos - they're fantastic! The solo in "Nailgun Massacre" gouged my eyes out, spooned out my brain, and then used my brains to paint the Mona Lisa on my wall. Yes, it was that good. The drums are unlike most deathcore bands, because they have variation. It's not a blastbeat festival on this album, and the drummer shows just how important the drums can be. The bass is great too; it keeps the band in a nice "groove". However, most of the time it is hard to hear, which is a bummer because when you can hear it, it sounds great! It sounds technical and well-executed. Arde Ostowari's vocals are limited to the mid-range, which is not a bad thing because his vocals are very good, but it would be nice to see some variation. All in all, the whole band performs stunningly.

The album in general is very well put together... including a sort of instrumental Mexican folk song ("Chupacabra")? I don't know what to call it but it makes a great addition to the album, it changes things up from the repetitive "grrr grrr grrr" vocals. Mind Control is the perfect length for a deathcore album. You want just a little bit more, enough that you might check out the band's new material, which is what the band wants... and what I recommend you to do.

Overall, this is a great album, with only a few flaws; it is definitely one to check out, especially if you're still a little leery on the whole deathcore thing.

Highlights: "Chupacabra", "Nailgun Massacre", "Cinema/Mind Control" combo

Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Boxcar Willy | 03.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Hits total: 1251 | This month: 2