Rating:
9.4
Hieronymus Bosch - Artificial Emotions
30 May 2005


01. Interference
02. Third Half
03. Nodus
04. Escape From Primitivity
05. Tired Eyes
06. Blind Windows Stare
07. Dew Swimmer
08. Practical Criticism
09. Whispers In Bedlam
10. Heartbeat Seismology


If you've ever heard something delirious, melancholic, something impulsive, something that comes from the deep soul that is so true that you have a hard time believing in it, yet implemented in the harshness of reality, think about it twice more. And again, once more.

Okay, I've maybe over-exaggerated the sentence above a bit, but this band defined a moody, gloomy atmospheric sound that I haven't heard from anyone else. Hailing from the cold-winded streets of Russia, many years after their debut, these guys will show you something that, if you listen carefully, will definitely stick in your mind.

Facing other death metal bands, they are not focusing on the brutality and the high speed, but the melodies and the creative breaks, sometimes filled with clean or dissonant guitar chords, in some way on the path that has been already taken by bands like Cynic, Atheist, and Death. These three, especially the last two are probably the biggest influences for Hieronymus Bosch.

When you start listening to Artificial Emotions it will put you in the feeling like you've been thrown in the abyss of your own dark mind, and you're locked up in the cell where you suffer mental torture, fighting with yourself on questions defining your being. And you see others ignoring you, beating you, thinking you're pathetic, "why are you still believing it will change"... And in the end, you remain silent, watching the outside world, while inside you're suffering and wondering how all this could go wrong, and bowing before the whole world because it's the only choice you have left.

Maybe you can find something similar to this. Something that only has the slightest copy of this.

Something.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Hieronymus Bosch
Album: Artificial Emotions


 


written by qlacs | 10.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 57  
Search this topic:  


Fradd - 10.01.2012 at 18:10  
This review is very well-written. And this album is now on my wishlist.
qlacs - 10.01.2012 at 21:35  
Written by Fradd on 10.01.2012 at 18:10

This review is very well-written. And this album is now on my wishlist.

Kudos to you, this is my first review
K†ulu - 13.01.2012 at 10:56  
So what are you trying to say with that last paragraph? I see first there are "questions defining your being," and then something to do with this world being screwed up, and while realizing your can't change it, you just go with the flow, i.e. "bowing before the whole world because it's the only choice you have left."

I really wonder what exactly your saying here and what exactly the music makes you feel.

P.S. I remember listening to their debut and not really getting it; will check this one out now.
Troy Killjoy - 13.01.2012 at 11:24  
Great review, but I've got a bit of a bone to pick with those similar bands.

The Human Abstract was released in '95, and the band only improved technically over the years. I'd call them more influential than influenced, and their melodies are completely separate from anything Death or Cynic ever did. Atheist? Sure, but HB are probably better compared to Quo Vadis (Forever), Carcariass (Hell on Earth), or even Cenotaph (Epic Rites).

This is a brilliant album, but still doesn't hold a candle to The Human Abstract in my opinion; although, that's probably because THA is one of my all-time favorite death metal albums.
Spirit Molecule - 13.01.2012 at 12:56  
I would say that The human abstract definitely has a lot of death influence, the progressions the chord patterns the style, there were quite a few similarities if I remember right. Its been years since I've heard HB, they're definitely an underrated band. Its been ages since I've heard some tech death, I should get me some
qlacs - 04.12.2012 at 13:35  
Written by K†ulu on 13.01.2012 at 10:56

So what are you trying to say with that last paragraph? I see first there are "questions defining your being," and then something to do with this world being screwed up, and while realizing your can't change it, you just go with the flow, i.e. "bowing before the whole world because it's the only choice you have left."

I really wonder what exactly your saying here and what exactly the music makes you feel.

P.S. I remember listening to their debut and not really getting it; will check this one out now.

To be honest I've no idea, I was quite drunk as far as I can recall.
This was the first album i've heard from them, later on I checked out a couple of songs from the debut but that didn't cut for me either. This one though is still among my favourites.
qlacs - 04.12.2012 at 13:40  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.01.2012 at 11:24

Great review, but I've got a bit of a bone to pick with those similar bands.

The Human Abstract was released in '95, and the band only improved technically over the years. I'd call them more influential than influenced, and their melodies are completely separate from anything Death or Cynic ever did. Atheist? Sure, but HB are probably better compared to Quo Vadis (Forever), Carcariass (Hell on Earth), or even Cenotaph (Epic Rites).

This is a brilliant album, but still doesn't hold a candle to The Human Abstract in my opinion; although, that's probably because THA is one of my all-time favorite death metal albums.

You're partly right Troy, but I think the riffs structurally are very similar to what Death played on Individual Thought Patterns.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Hieronymus Bosch - Artificial Emotions 7.5 27.09.2013 by K†ulu
Albums Hieronymus Bosch - Equivoke 4.5 17.05.2012 by MechanisT
Reviews Le Grand Guignol - The Great Maddening 3 19.07.2013 by K†ulu
Reviews Eternal Legacy - Seeking No Peace 3 03.07.2013 by
Reviews Abominable Putridity - The Anomalies Of Artificial Origin 2.5 10.06.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 1988 | This month: 4