Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.2
Wolves In The Throne Room - Celestial Lineage
13 September 2011


01. Thuja Magus Imperium
02. Permanent Changes In Consciousness
03. Subterranean Initiation
04. Rainbow Illness
05. Woodland Cathedral
06. Astral Blood
07. Prayer Of Transformation


Not being one for black metal - the closest I came to understanding the genre was with Woods Of Ypres and Keep Of Kalessin - I decided to give Wolves In The Throne Room's Celestial Lineage a spin as a result of some widespread attention online.

I had my hopes up, and my hopes were met.

This is a very relaxing album, something to listen to in solitude, in your room, with headphones on. After listening to the opening track, you'll find yourself more than intrigued. The chimes and sounds fill your mind, bringing you to a musical wonderland. Then a woman's voice enters the foray, placed perfectly within the song, intriguing you even more. And finally, the entrance of the guitar - that tremolo-picked guitar... and you're gone, taken by the perfect black metal melody.

The album continues in a similar fashion, mid-tempo and simplistic. It's simply breathtaking, backed up by a perfect vocal delivery: harsh, typical black metal shrieks, but not inconceivable or grating. The album gets a major boost from the drums, primarily focused on the utilization of double bass. They pummel the listener, maintaining the tempo seemingly without any effort.

There is a ton of atmosphere to be felt here as well, with a variety of sounds to be heard. The overall feeling keeps you awestruck as every miniscule sound plays its way into your ears. There seems to be something completely new with each listen, something that wasn't there before. It continues to deliver new adventures for the listener to experience.

And that's all a testament to the great production. Far from the bedroom-styled albums you've been listening to over the years, Celestial Lineage is a very professional sounding album. While it's not the best you'll ever hear, it does a fantastic job of highlighting the elements that need highlighting without compromising anything. The most important thing is you can distinctly pick apart each instrument in the mix.

Overall this is a very good album. I would recommend it to anybody who loves black metal, or to anybody who hasn't had much experience in the genre.

Highlight: "Thuja Magus Imperium"

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 7


Band profile: Wolves In The Throne Room
Album: Celestial Lineage


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 12.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
DerRozzengarten

Rating:
9.0
Rainy evenings have a vibe of their own: rainy evenings with entrancing atmosphere are astonishing. The wolves have returned to the throne room and the fourth chapter has been carved in stone. The highly anticipated Celestial Lineage has arrived and along with it the specialists of "Vastness And Sorrow" simply because that's what they always preserved; vastness and depth in terms of sound and an omnipresent escalating bitterness and sonorous rapture.

Read more ››
published 10.10.2011 | Comments (26)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 60  
Search this topic:  


Oaken - 08.06.2012 at 22:10  
Kudos to this review. Indeed, this is a great album for genre-newbies to listen to.
Boxcar Willy - 08.06.2012 at 22:11  
Written by Oaken on 08.06.2012 at 22:10

Kudos to this review. Indeed, this is a great album for genre-newbies to listen to.

Thanks, should have put the originality to a 5 or 6 though though :/
Oaken - 08.06.2012 at 22:17  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:11

Written by Oaken on 08.06.2012 at 22:10

Kudos to this review. Indeed, this is a great album for genre-newbies to listen to.

Thanks, should have put the originality to a 5 or 6 though though :/

I don't think so. First of all, this is WITTR's sound. If this album was written by another band, then maybe. And also don't forget the orchestral female vocals and the "natural" ambient parts like in Woodland Cathedral. Anyways, Celestial Lineage is one of the most tightly performed and well produced cascadian black metal albums. Just listen to that orgasmic riff at 8:13 in "Astral Blood".
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2012 at 22:19  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:11

Thanks, should have put the originality to a 5 or 6 though though :/


I don't find it so unoriginal tbh. Somewhere between 7-8 is good for me. This has actually more things than just black metal btw, it's just quite subtle. I would give far more credit to the production. If there's one thing these guys have besides a great sense of songwriting... is a great sense of how the songs have to sound.

Also... Big lol for WOY.
Boxcar Willy - 08.06.2012 at 22:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.06.2012 at 22:19

Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:11

Thanks, should have put the originality to a 5 or 6 though though :/


I don't find it so unoriginal tbh. Somewhere between 7-8 is good for me. This has actually more things than just black metal btw, it's just quite subtle. I would give far more credit to the production. If there's one thing these guys have besides a great sense of songwriting... is a great sense of how the songs have to sound.

Also... Big lol for WOY.

:/ This is an old review, okay!

As for the originality, I suppose you're right, but I hear albums similar a lot. I also agree taht this is more than BM, there are nice ambient, and symphonic elements here
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2012 at 22:28  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:21
As for the originality, I suppose you're right, but I hear albums similar a lot.


Hmmm, I think the originality should be 7 because while it's nothing out of this world, it's THEIR sound. By now it's quite easy to point out a "WITTR-riff" and it's also easy to point out some bands that have been influenced by these guys. Most of the modern albums that has those types of riffs have been influenced by these fellas, which in the return are influenced by the older band Weakling...
I also feel the production should be higher, ifthere's one thing these guys are good at besides having a great sense of songwriting, it's a great sense of how it should sund.
Boxcar Willy - 08.06.2012 at 22:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.06.2012 at 22:28

Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:21
As for the originality, I suppose you're right, but I hear albums similar a lot.


Hmmm, I think the originality should be 7 because while it's nothing out of this world, it's THEIR sound. By now it's quite easy to point out a "WITTR-riff" and it's also easy to point out some bands that have been influenced by these guys. Most of the modern albums that has those types of riffs have been influenced by these fellas, which in the return are influenced by the older band Weakling...
I also feel the production should be higher, ifthere's one thing these guys are good at besides having a great sense of songwriting, it's a great sense of how it should sund.

True, but remember I wrote this when I was really new to BM, so those little audio bumps we associate with Bm, I thought were bad, therefor I put teh production to a 7. i think it should be an 8 or maybe even a nine. i also think the overall should be up a half a poitn too.
Mr. Doctor - 08.06.2012 at 22:36  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:30

True, but remember I wrote this when I was really new to BM, so those little audio bumps we associate with Bm, I thought were bad, therefor I put teh production to a 7. i think it should be an 8 or maybe even a nine. i also think the overall should be up a half a poitn too.


This is also true when they play live. I haven't seen them live but I have seen many live videos and they really know how to make it work live (which can be tricky for some BM bands).

Fantastic concert right here. Really proffesional sound by these guys (the camera guy also gets some credit). Everything is balanced as it should be. Nothing louder than the rest.
Troy Killjoy - 09.06.2012 at 01:53  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:30
I wrote this when I was really new to BM

This is why people should listen to music more extensively before talking about it as if they have.
Boxcar Willy - 09.06.2012 at 01:56  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 09.06.2012 at 01:53

Written by Boxcar Willy on 08.06.2012 at 22:30
I wrote this when I was really new to BM

This is why people should listen to music more extensively before talking about it as if they have.

Well, I wanted to review this as a noob, simply because it is a good entry level album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Wolves In The Throne Room - Celestial Lineage 11.5 10.10.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
Albums Wolves In The Throne Room - Wolves In The Throne Room [Demo] 7.5 31.03.2012 by Alex Fenger
News Wolves In The Throne Room - Announce New North American Tour Dates 7.5 14.12.2011 by Carl Berg
News Wolves In The Throne Room - New Song Streaming Online 7.5 15.08.2011 by !J.O.O.E.!
News Wolves In The Throne Room - Share New Album Cover And More 7.5 01.05.2014 by PocketMetal



Hits total: 2134 | This month: 5