Rating:
8.5
Kamelot - The Fourth Legacy
1999


01. New Allegiance
02. The Fourth Legacy
03. Silent Goddess
04. Desert Reign
05. Nights Of Arabia
06. The Shadow Of Uther
07. A Sailorman's Hymn
08. Alexandria
09. The Inquisitor
10. Glory
11. Until Kingdom Come
12. Lunar Sanctum
13. Can You Remember [live] [Japanese bonus]


Kamelot was never my favorite band and the type of music they played wasn't the fast and heavy power metal that I prefer, that's the impression I got when I heard their most famous releases The Black Halo & Epica. Of course no one can ignore the vocal abilities of mister Roy Khan who happens to be one of the best metal singers nowadays, but you never know Kamelot are a power metal band unless you listen to The Fourth Legacy.

After three weak attempts at writing an album that would arouse the interest of metal fans worldwide, Kamelot hit the spot with their fourth and best release so far, The Fourth Legacy. This album transports the listener to times long gone, to the lands of ancient Egypt in "Alexandria" and old Jerusalem in "Silent Goddess", to a time where the church ruled in the middle ages and priests defined the laws in "Inquisitor". No one can deny the talent with which the band plays throughout the album, and one of the interesting things about Kamelot is the way they write their lyrics which are not just a bunch of random words that are thrown here and there to complement a verse or a chorus. The best example is my favorite Kamelot ballad "A Sailorman's Hymn". If I were to highlight the gems in this very consistent album it would definitely be the title track which still has one of the best Roy Khan performances in the band's whole discography, add to that the Arabic scales and oriental mood of "Nights Of Arabia" which guitarist Thomas Youngblood composed with the help of some Arabic composers and instrumentalists. The astrology inspired "Lunar Sanctum" does a perfect job at concluding an epic journey which has to be one of the best in Power Metal.

If you're not a fan of raw speed power metal then this release is not for you although it's worth giving a shot and will surely arouse some interest even in the biggest haters of power metal. The follow up Karma would be the last pure power metal album (and a very good one) before Kamelot went into a more gothic/symphonic direction.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Kamelot
Album: The Fourth Legacy


 


written by Mountain King | 14.01.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Epictemptation

Rating:
9.1
In my last review about Kamelot's Siege Perilous I talked about a negative side to the album. Which was basically the voice of Roy Khan and how his voice was very different in tone and pitch compare to the other Kamelot albums. But now I can give positive points to Roy Khan's voice in this album. The second album to feature him as the new lead singer is called The Fourth Legacy and may I say this album is just amazing.

Read more ››
published 27.10.2012 | Comments (6)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 104  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 14.01.2012 at 03:36  
Seems this album is not for me. Nice review.
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 03:37  
Only... Kamelot has never played "raw speed power metal" or "gothic/symphonic" metal. Have you heard those genres before?

I do agree this is one of their best albums and definitely a different style than they're playing now, but "raw speed power" it is NOT.
Mountain King - 14.01.2012 at 03:48  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.01.2012 at 03:36

Seems this album is not for me. Nice review.

Thanks. You might check it out, u'll never know...
Mountain King - 14.01.2012 at 03:50  
Written by Susan on 14.01.2012 at 03:37

Only... Kamelot has never played "raw speed power metal" or "gothic/symphonic" metal. Have you heard those genres before?

I do agree this is one of their best albums and definitely a different style than they're playing now, but "raw speed power" it is NOT.

Symphonic meets Power Metal like in The Black Halo, Dark & Gothic influenced like their lastest one. As for raw Power Metal, means it was in the vein of old school Helloween for example...
Susan - 14.01.2012 at 03:56  
Keyword is "influenced" and in that you might actually have an argument.

It's nice to see fans of the old style, no matter what other disagreements we may have. This album is sadly underrated since the band really blew up with Karma and Epica and most people don't bother with back-catalogs. Even when I saw Kamelot play live on the Black Halo tour, there were one or two songs from Karma but none from this. Despite my persistent yelling for them (Got my Fourth Legacy CD signed by the band though so that almost made up for it!)
Mountain King - 14.01.2012 at 04:37  
Written by Susan on 14.01.2012 at 03:56

Keyword is "influenced" and in that you might actually have an argument.

It's nice to see fans of the old style, no matter what other disagreements we may have. This album is sadly underrated since the band really blew up with Karma and Epica and most people don't bother with back-catalogs. Even when I saw Kamelot play live on the Black Halo tour, there were one or two songs from Karma but none from this. Despite my persistent yelling for them (Got my Fourth Legacy CD signed by the band though so that almost made up for it!)

haha without being too picky, I'm sure you get my point. Anyway, yeah I would love to see the title track, Alexandria, Lunar Sanctum to mention a few, played live. Being Roy's gone for now so whatever...
Milena - 14.01.2012 at 10:58  
Written by Mountain King on 14.01.2012 at 04:37

Being Roy's gone for now so whatever...

That's my attitude towards Kamelot until they get Roy back or Tommy Karevik in. Or some new crazy dude like Roy used to be. Don't want to be a butthurt fan, but I need a good voice in that band.
Your review is nice, except the little genre confusion Lyrinan mentioned. I feel that this is a way underappreciated release, in my mind it's right next to Karma in brilliance. The title track is how all power metal should sound like.
Milena - 08.02.2012 at 02:30  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.01.2012 at 03:36

Seems this album is not for me. Nice review.

Actually, you might consider giving it a spin... for me, this is one of the albums that transcend everyone's genre preferences, and which can be liked by a lot of people regardless of what genre of metal they listen to. At least Karma or Epica/The Black Halo for something a bit more tastefully bombastic. I'd bet my right arm that at least the vocals are better than the 90% of stuff you're familiar with.
Boxcar Willy - 08.02.2012 at 02:37  
Written by Milena on 08.02.2012 at 02:30

Written by Boxcar Willy on 14.01.2012 at 03:36

Seems this album is not for me. Nice review.

Actually, you might consider giving it a spin... for me, this is one of the albums that transcend everyone's genre preferences, and which can be liked by a lot of people regardless of what genre of metal they listen to. At least Karma or Epica/The Black Halo for something a bit more tastefully bombastic. I'd bet my right arm that at least the vocals are better than the 90% of stuff you're familiar with.

Downloading now.
slinx - 10.02.2012 at 07:04  
Not a bad review, could've used more description and a break in the second paragraph to seperate your views though.

Kamelot was one of the groups that got me into metal and yet I've never listened to anything pre-Karma. The fact is that Roy Khan didn't sound like a flower metal singer is what got me into them. Gonna have a few beers and check it out.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Kamelot - The Fourth Legacy 8.5 28.10.2012 by The Shape 1973
Albums Kamelot - The Fourth Legacy 7.5 22.12.2011 by Mountain King
Reviews Helloween - The Time Of The Oath 6 01.04.2011 by Zenzero
Reviews Savatage - Hall Of The Mountain King 5.5 05.03.2012 by Mountain King
Lists The Greatest Rock/Metal Ballads 5 07.01.2012 by Lokaeda



Hits total: 3083 | This month: 91