Rating:
9.3
Darkthrone - Under A Funeral Moon
24 June 1993


01. Natassja In Eternal Sleep
02. Summer Of The Diabolical Holocaust
03. The Dance Of Eternal Shadows
04. Unholy Black Metal
05. To Walk The Infernal Fields
06. Under A Funeral Moon
07. Inn I De Dype Skogers Favn
08. Crossing The Triangle Of Flames


Under a Funeral Moon is the cream in the Oreo of Darkthrone's Peaceville trilogy, a cream that seems to be overlooked by fans - most likely due to the change in ingredients. It's only a slight change, but a change nonetheless. Compared to her siblings, she's the ugly one of the bunch, but definitely the smartest.

Still present is the quintessential Norwegian black metal sound typical of the early '90s, raw and under-produced, but done so in a way that can almost be off-putting... at least, more so than is traditional of black metal's most influential second wave pioneers. The instrumentation is to be expected of a release from this period, with chainsaw-like distorted guitars; a vile, raspy vocal delivery; and extreme blastbeat mayhem.

The difference lies in the unequaled songwriting depth and variation. The songs are twisted, contorted in a way that structurally leaves them sticking out like a sore thumb, honest and uncompromising and disgusting in every aspect. It's a test of will, a test of your listening ability. The organic feel is anything but accessible, and the average listener could experience serious dementia as a result of attempting to digest such corruption.

The strong occult vibe synonymous with early Darkthrone is blatant this time around, relentless in its presence, dragging you into the darkness of a wintry night, so cold in the midnight frost, leaving you in solitude to slip into an eternal rest... a frozen, dying mess. This genuine, honest approach is a challenge to the listener, a challenge to work through the chaos and grit and sift through to reach the light. And the only light present is cast from the mocking moon, casting shadows and playing with your mind until you don't know whether you're dead or alive.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 10


Band profile: Darkthrone
Album: Under A Funeral Moon


 



Written on 14.01.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 151  
Search this topic:  


VloRD - 14.01.2012 at 12:08  
This was the first black metal album along with mayhem's ordo ad chao I listened to...I also remember dismissing the entire genre as nonsensical, but now its one of my favorite albums of all time...all in the span of one year...

BTW, why did you retire?!?
Troy Killjoy - 14.01.2012 at 12:32  
Written by VloRD on 14.01.2012 at 12:08
This was the first black metal album along with mayhem's ordo ad chao I listened to...I also remember dismissing the entire genre as nonsensical, but now its one of my favorite albums of all time...all in the span of one year...
BTW, why did you retire?!?

Those are an odd first two to listen to, but I understand the process for sure. I remember the first time I listened to black metal I was like... people call this music? And now it's my favorite genre.

As for retiring, I just couldn't handle the workload. And now I have time to review albums like this.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.01.2012 at 13:18  
This album has needed a review for a while. I once considered doing it but that never happened. I prefer the albums either side of it but it still rocks as an album.
vezzy - 14.01.2012 at 13:18  
To think that this guy proofreads reviews.

Under a Funeral Room.
Mr. Doctor - 14.01.2012 at 13:26  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.01.2012 at 13:18
I prefer the albums either side of it but it still rocks as an album.

Same here but still a very good album.... It has been a while since I listened to their triology. It's under my list of "stuff I know by heart but haven't bought at all even though they are cheap, just out of pure lazyness and thinking about other albums".
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.01.2012 at 13:44  
Written by vezzy on 14.01.2012 at 13:18

To think that this guy proofreads reviews.

Under a Funeral Room.

It's a pretty boss typo though.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.01.2012 at 13:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.01.2012 at 13:26

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.01.2012 at 13:18
I prefer the albums either side of it but it still rocks as an album.

Same here but still a very good album.... It has been a while since I listened to their triology. It's under my list of "stuff I know by heart but haven't bought at all even though they are cheap, just out of pure lazyness and thinking about other albums".

I think whether or not or how much you like x Darkthrone album is often down purely to how they approached the production on said album. Pretty much a different sound on each, and as it stands I like TH slightly more.
Mr. Doctor - 14.01.2012 at 13:49  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.01.2012 at 13:48
I think whether or not or how much you like x Darkthrone album is often down purely to how they approached the production on said album. Pretty much a different sound on each, and as it stands I like TH slightly more.


Exactly, Besides from the production... There aren't many differences at all in the triology when it comes to overall songwriting tbh.
Lokaeda - 14.01.2012 at 16:00  
I find this album better than Transylvanian Hunger (which is not bad). Still, Those two albums are not my favorites in Darkthrone's discography, I prefer Soulside Journey, Hate Them, Dark Thrones & Black Flags which I all find to be more interesting ^^
RavenKing - 14.01.2012 at 16:03  
This is my favorite Darkthrone album.
Slayer666 - 14.01.2012 at 17:56  
Partially disagreed, out of the Peacevile Trilogy, Transilvanian Hunger takes the cake, IMO.
Nice review as usual, though.
RavenKing - 14.01.2012 at 18:43  
Written by Slayer666 on 14.01.2012 at 17:56

Partially disagreed, out of the Peacevile Trilogy, Transilvanian Hunger takes the cake, IMO.
Nice review as usual, though.


"Transylvanian Hunger" is a good album and I like it but it has a weakness, Imo: it is repetitive and has almost no variation.
I see this album the same way I see Slayer's "Reign In Blood", as a one-dimensional release.
@gent_-_orange - 14.01.2012 at 21:30  
Nice review, But I think A Blaze in the Northern Sky is still the best from Darkthrone. I just find the songwriting to be at its best on that album.
Void Eater - 14.01.2012 at 22:05  
The title track to this album I think was the first black metal song I heard. That thrashy riff at around 40 seconds into the song is one of my favorite black metal riffs. Great album, best of Darkthrone.
Uldreth - 14.01.2012 at 23:45  
Written by RavenKing on 14.01.2012 at 18:43



"Transylvanian Hunger" is a good album and I like it but it has a weakness, Imo: it is repetitive and has almost no variation.
I see this album the same way I see Slayer's "Reign In Blood", as a one-dimensional release.

I kind of agree.

Out of the Peaceville Trilogy, I like Transylvanian Hunger the least.
It is too repetetive and primitive. I don't mind droning or repetetive music at all as evidenced from my like for blackgaze (and atmospheric music in general) however those always have a sort of 'enchanting' quality to it that TH lacks. I think it is also quite overrated, being the 'paragon' black metal album so often.
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.01.2012 at 13:18
This album has needed a review for a while. I once considered doing it but that never happened. I prefer the albums either side of it but it still rocks as an album.

Agreed (which is why I decided to do it in the first place), and agreed (although this album is still boss).
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:04  
Written by vezzy on 14.01.2012 at 13:18
Under a Funeral Room.

Fixed... and there's no way I can make this out to look like some sort of ironic accident.
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:06  
Written by Lokaeda on 14.01.2012 at 16:00
I find this album better than Transylvanian Hunger (which is not bad). Still, Those two albums are not my favorites in Darkthrone's discography, I prefer Soulside Journey, Hate Them, Dark Thrones & Black Flags which I all find to be more interesting ^^

That's an odd mix... usually when you think Darkthrone, you think the Peaceville trilogy.

You fucking un-elitist.
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:06  
Written by Slayer666 on 14.01.2012 at 17:56
Partially disagreed, out of the Peacevile Trilogy, Transilvanian Hunger takes the cake, IMO.
Nice review as usual, though.

I actually prefer the ol' Blaze, but TH is still a great album (and slightly better overall than this in my opinion). And thanks.
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:08  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 14.01.2012 at 21:30
Nice review, But I think A Blaze in the Northern Sky is still the best from Darkthrone. I just find the songwriting to be at its best on that album.

Agreed. The rating here will look like it's my favorite Darkthrone album but this actually sits behind le Blaze and TH for me.

I guess you could say I kinda love the Peaceville trilogy...
@gent_-_orange - 15.01.2012 at 00:45  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.01.2012 at 00:08

Written by @gent_-_orange on 14.01.2012 at 21:30
Nice review, But I think A Blaze in the Northern Sky is still the best from Darkthrone. I just find the songwriting to be at its best on that album.

Agreed. The rating here will look like it's my favorite Darkthrone album but this actually sits behind le Blaze and TH for me.

I guess you could say I kinda love the Peaceville trilogy...

To me A Blaze is a more "song" based album with the most memorable moments, further through the trilogy the albums became more atmosphere based (not to say ABITNS did not have atmosphere because it certainly did) and meant to be taken as a whole, I Enjoy all three no doubt about it but with TH the individual songs dont stand out as much due to the repetition, But i know after listening to the album i enjoy it (if that makes sense). I would say this album strikes a balance between Blaze and TH but its as good as neither in that respect IMO.

All three of the trilogy are excellent but for very different reasons and you are fully justified choosing any of them as your favourite.
Troy Killjoy - 15.01.2012 at 00:50  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 15.01.2012 at 00:45
All three of the trilogy are excellent but for very different reasons and you are fully justified choosing any of them as your favourite.

I think that's what makes the trilogy so great. Anyone who listens to black metal identifies with at least one of them as an instant classic and can pick out what's good and bad in all of them, but there aren't many people who universally shit on all three.
RavenKing - 15.01.2012 at 02:03  
Written by @gent_-_orange on 15.01.2012 at 00:45

with TH the individual songs dont stand out as much due to the repetition


That's exactly what I meant when I said it is a one-dimensional release.
Slinky666 - 15.01.2012 at 03:12  
I like this album.
Slayer666 - 15.01.2012 at 20:07  
Written by RavenKing on 14.01.2012 at 18:43

"Transylvanian Hunger" is a good album and I like it but it has a weakness, Imo: it is repetitive and has almost no variation.


That's exactly it, really. I see TH as a constant flow, as a one big whole. It's meant to be listened from start to finish, like it's one huge track. And I think that's its greatest strength, the thing that separates it from the other Darkthrone albums and makes it superior.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.01.2012 at 22:40  
Yarp, it's called consistency. Mark of a great album.
Mr. Doctor - 15.01.2012 at 23:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.01.2012 at 22:40

Yarp, it's called consistency. Mark of a great album.


Well, you know there is a fine line between consistency and being just monotonous/one-dimensional.
But yeah, I agree... TH is perfect as it is tbh. Can't say much about UAFM since I haven't heard it that much. Damn I really need to get their triology soon, just heard it in my computer a couple of times
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.01.2012 at 01:40  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.01.2012 at 23:22


Well, you know there is a fine line between consistency and being just monotonous/one-dimensional.
But yeah, I agree... TH is perfect as it is tbh. Can't say much about UAFM since I haven't heard it that much. Damn I really need to get their triology soon, just heard it in my computer a couple of times

Well I certainly don't agree that this album is monotonous. Many of the songs on this album differ in speed, tone and approach quite a lot without sounding like they belong on another album.
Mr. Doctor - 16.01.2012 at 07:42  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 16.01.2012 at 01:40

Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.01.2012 at 23:22


Well, you know there is a fine line between consistency and being just monotonous/one-dimensional.
But yeah, I agree... TH is perfect as it is tbh. Can't say much about UAFM since I haven't heard it that much. Damn I really need to get their triology soon, just heard it in my computer a couple of times

Well I certainly don't agree that this album is monotonous. Many of the songs on this album differ in speed, tone and approach quite a lot without sounding like they belong on another album.


I haven't said anything about the albums though.
I just understand if someone feels like the albums (specially TH) are one-dimensional.
Illog1cal - 04.12.2012 at 02:20  
I don't find the production to be that much of an issue because I think it works. An example of an album with terrible production would be Suffocation's 'Breeding the Spawn', the main difference is that Suffocation never wanted the production to sound bad, mistakes happened and it ruined the album for the most part. In Darkthrone's case, they purposefully chose this aesthetic due to the influence Venom had on them (in terms of production, not so much musically) and it was crafted in such a way that it would improve the listening experience to those who understand it, and like I said already, it works.

I like it because it has a very natural sound.
strade - 04.01.2013 at 00:20  
Great review, Troy. I love this album. I was surprised by the general amount of catchiness here, something oft lost by many of their contemporaries constantly searching for that perfect atmosphere. This record happens to have both, and that goes for its predecessor, too.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Darkthrone - Under A Funeral Moon 7.5 29.12.2009 by Array
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 6 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Satyricon - Dark Medieval Times 4.5 14.01.2012 by Unhealer
Reviews Lamb Of God - Resolution 4.5 18.04.2012 by Nosurper
Reviews Norther - Circle Regenerated 4.5 18.11.2011 by qlacs



Hits total: 3025 | This month: 9