Rating:
7.0
Pantera - Far Beyond Driven
7 March 1994


Disc I
01. Strength Beyond Strength
02. Becoming
03. 5 Minutes Alone
04. I'm Broken
05. Good Friends And A Bottle Of Pills
06. Hard Lines, Sunken Cheeks
07. Slaughtered
08. 25 Years
09. Shedding Skin
10. Use My Third Arm
11. Throes Of Rejection
12. Planet Caravan [Black Sabbath cover]
13. The Badge [Poison Idea cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II
[Far Beyond Bootleg - Live From Donington '94]
01. Use My Third Arm
02. Walk
03. Strength Beyond Strength
04. Domination/Hollow
05. Slaughtered
06. Fucking Hostile
07. This Love
08. Mouth For War
09. Cowboys From Hell


Once upon a time in a far-far away land lived innocent people guided by their beloved divinities - Gentleness, Kindness and Softness. These people lead pastoral innocent life, shared intimate closeness with nature and with themselves. Everything around them was a pretext for love and kindness. But, as they grew in number, they discovered they had to import goods from the other lands surrounding their peaceful country. And thus they did , at first afraid by the ignonimous stories about the barbaric habits of "the outlanders", but finally, reluctantly releaved as they were by the precise advice from their divinites on the specific goods and countries to get them from.
"Remember, only get those goods my dear fellows for they will not contaminate you with the wickedness of those foul outlanders!"

But as it happens, four of the designated tradesmen, for no one was brave enough to volunteer to meet the outlanders, got misleaded into buying some whiskey from one of the numerous wicked salesmen. Cheated as they were, they innocently drank the foul liquid after a hard working day. The consequences were astonishing: the personalities of our four lovely companions completely changed, transforming them into rude, tough, irreverent and alcoholic creatures. These now foulest of foul creatures gathered under the terrific name of Pantera!

Then they acted swiftly. They first destroyed their own village, cursing the divinities and transforming their own fellow villagers into the same horror they had become; and wrote some kind of devilish hymn about it, naming it Cowboys From Hell. Then they attacked the whole country, in a frentic victorious momentum and savagely wrote as 2nd hymn - terrifying in its horror - Vulgar Display of Power.

Here we are then to review their 3rd album: Far Beyond Driven. As many people, I do think that Vulgar Display of Power is an almost perfection in the genre, and thus first listened to this 3rd album with these questions stuck on the back of my mind: " How hard must it be to compose a new album after such a success? Are they really going to make it?" And I have to say that they partly failed. The first 4 songs of the album are just amazingly brilliant and form the best start I have ever encountered!
But, after those jewels, the album runs out of efficiency because of a lack of coherence and structure. Where Vulgar Display of Power only contained high quality songs, Far Beyond Driven has completely useless and astonishingly stupid songs such as 'Good Friend and a Bottle of Pills'.

But it still has some qualities and definitely deserves to be part of your CD collection. But just do not expect it to be the best album ever or even the proud succesor of Vulgar Display of Power. Just a good one. Too bad Pantera.


Band profile: Pantera
Album: Far Beyond Driven


 


written by Maccas | 02.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
SuicidalCyco

Rating:
9.4
Pantera. A band that self put out four albums in the 1980's. Most people who listen to them probably do not know that about them. With the 1990 release of Cowboys From Hell Pantera moved from their glam/speed metal to a heavier groove thrash. And after the release of their powerful Vulgar Display Of Power they seemed to be on top of the metal community and many fans thought they could never top that album.

Read more ››
published 30.01.2013 | Comments (6)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 137  
Search this topic:  


kennysimpson - 05.08.2007 at 00:13  
this is the best album in the world!!!!!!!!!
along with every other pantera album!!!!!!
LOL
theflyingmachine - 05.08.2007 at 22:26  
I wouldn't have thought this to be an underrated album until I read the Pantera thread and read this review. This is definitely an excellent album.
IllNiñoSweden - 22.10.2007 at 21:52  
This is the best album in the World!!!
The best song is Becoming!!!
Collin - 22.10.2007 at 23:02  
I actually pretty much agree with this review. The first four songs are awesome, among the best pantera ever recorded, but half of the rest of the album is filler. Definitely not as good as Cowboys From Hell and Vulgar Display Of Power IMO.
Syk - 26.10.2007 at 08:43  
I don't like Becoming and I'm Broken so much - my favourites are Hard Lines, Shedding Skin and Throes of Rejection. I'd rate it a bit higher than the reviewer here, better than the overrated VDoP IMO, though track 5 is indeed a very low point...
Builtforsin88 - 13.03.2010 at 07:33  
JUST GIVES US, 5 minutes alone!! haha classic.
Judas The Priest - 25.10.2010 at 21:06  
The first time I heard this album it didnt really click very well. The more i listened to it though the more i dig it, like anchovies. To me as of now its better than VDoP.
Axe Argonian - 21.01.2011 at 01:22  
"Good Friend and a Bottle of Pills" is probably the shittiest song Pantera has ever recorded.
Sonic MrSumo - 21.01.2011 at 02:10  
Written by Axe Argonian on 21.01.2011 at 01:22

"Good Friend and a Bottle of Pills" is probably the shittiest song Pantera has ever recorded.


Agreed...it's the only song I skip on this album. At best, a bonus song on a digipack, not a song for the middle of the record!
Sepulnation - 15.03.2011 at 03:47  
Written by Sonic MrSumo on 21.01.2011 at 02:10

Written by Axe Argonian on 21.01.2011 at 01:22

"Good Friend and a Bottle of Pills" is probably the shittiest song Pantera has ever recorded.


Agreed...it's the only song I skip on this album. At best, a bonus song on a digipack, not a song for the middle of the record!


totally agree... but I love this album, full of power, groove, energy....
Void Eater - 15.03.2011 at 07:55  
Just for the record, this is Pantera's seventh album... Not their third, like they want you to believe.

I used to love Pantera, back when I was first getting into metal-They were the first band with harsh vocals that I liked. But after finding out about death and thrash metal, it becomes clear that this album is actually pretty damn mild, not to mention boring. The only thing Pantera has going for them is the groove, which gets really dull really fast. Decent band and album, but overrated beyond belief.
Mackaveli2012 - 12.05.2011 at 06:59  
A truly fantastic album. After listening to this, I looked for other similar records with the same type of evil atmosphere. What came close were probably Megadeth's Countdown to Extinction and Danzig's IV as well as Archgoat's Angelcunt: Tales of Desecration. Some death metal bands bore the fuck out of me with songs in albums not much different from each other but FBD with its obvious death metal influences could teach these posers a thing or two
pkillerjp - 04.03.2014 at 23:52  
This is where things started to go downhill a little bit, but it's still a very enjoyable album due to Dime still managing some killer riffs. The last Pantera album I enjoyed.
deadone - 05.03.2014 at 00:40  
Written by pkillerjp on 04.03.2014 at 23:52

This is where things started to go downhill a little bit, but it's still a very enjoyable album due to Dime still managing some killer riffs.



Totally agree.

Songs like Shedding Skin, Becoming and I'm Broken are awesome though.

Good Friends and a Bottle of Pills is both amusing and beyond messed up at the same time.

Even the most vulgar of Gore bands don't have lyrics this fucked up:

"I fucked your girlfriend last night.
While you snored and drooled, I fucked your love.
She called me Daddy. And I called her baby when I
Smacked her ass. I called her sugar when I ate
Her alive till daylight. And I slept with her all
Over me, from forehead to ribcage I dripper her ass.
Sometimes I thought you might be spying, living out some
Brash fantasy, but no. You were knocked out. But we were
All knocked out you know. In a way
I serve too many masters.
We didn't know you'd break the bottle that the magic
Came in to use those jagged shards to slit our wrists
And neck. And you'd do it too, you're that kind of dude.
But you wouldn't know what you were doing because
I didn't, your girlfriend could have been a burn
Victim, an amputee, a dead body. But god damn I wanted
To fuck."

Quote:
The last Pantera album I enjoyed.


I did enjoy Great Southern Trendkill and loved Reinventing The Steel.
pkillerjp - 06.03.2014 at 18:28  
Never heard Reinventing the Steel. I was totally not on the Pantera train by the time that one came out and I never bothered going back and giving it a listen. I'll try it soon.
deadone - 07.03.2014 at 00:51  
Written by pkillerjp on 06.03.2014 at 18:28

Never heard Reinventing the Steel. I was totally not on the Pantera train by the time that one came out and I never bothered going back and giving it a listen. I'll try it soon.


It's more "straightforward" Heavy/Groove Metal. In someways I'd describe it as an intermediate step between CFH and VDOP.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pantera - Far Beyond Driven 8.5 30.01.2013 by king_matt
Albums Pantera - Far Beyond Driven 7.5 28.07.2010 by Angelic Storm
Reviews Blind Guardian - Somewhere Far Beyond 4 12.08.2007 by Katatronik
Albums Blind Guardian - Somewhere Far Beyond 3 28.08.2011 by JÄY
Metal arena Slayer vs. Pantera, which album is "meaner"? 1.5 20.06.2009 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 6925 | This month: 86