Rating:
8.9
Everything Went Black - Cycles Of Light
17 January 2012


01. XI
02. Gods Of Atlantis
03. Halo Of Vultures
04. Lifeless
05. Parades
06. Thorn Feeders
07. Amongst Wolves
08. Kingdoms
09. Baptists


Move over, black metal, you're not the only genre that can pump out horribly depressing, haunting riffs that are just as aggressive. What we have on our hands is one evil-ass hardcore album.

No, not "evil hardcore" in the sense of that tough-guy, chest beating, jock hardcore is a horrible thing to share the planet with, but evil sounding. Everything Went Black really bring in mind the old Vancouver hardcore band Cursed; frantic, aggressive hardcore that's stripped down, and pretty fucking raw. It does pound forth with reckless abandon like any decent hardcore should, but there's a few riffs thrown in here and there that wouldn't actually sound all that out of place in a black metal album. Granted, they aren't frequent enough to start calling this "blackened hardcore" or any stupid shit like that, but it seems like there is some cross-pollination going on. In fact, there are times when Everything Went Black sounds like two different bands; one moment they're playing what you'd expect from hardcore; the pounding, rhythmic based, then they'll fly off into their evil sounding black metal-esque riffs.

It's not a perfect album by any means, it does have it's dull moments (few as they are), as well as moments that just don't seem to go anywhere, but this is some abrasive, aggressive hardcore at it's finest. It upholds the true spirit of hardcore; no wankery, just music to move you...in a violent way. There's nothing on here to leave the listener alienated; it's a direct punch that cuts right to the baser instincts. Sure, there are a few slightly pieces of atmospheric riffing used to connect a lot of different parts, but it all feels right in the grand scheme of things.

If 2012 is to hardcore what 2011 was to grind, this is going to be one hell of a year. Cycles Of Light is a great place to start.


 



Written on 18.01.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 317  
Search this topic:  


Mikyz - 18.01.2012 at 09:30  
Good review, very much in the vein of Trap Them and that can't be anything but good, albeit a bit more atmospheric with a murky production.
Doc Godin - 18.01.2012 at 09:38  
Written by Mikyz on 18.01.2012 at 09:30

Good review, very much in the vein of Trap Them and that can't be anything but good, albeit a bit more atmospheric with a murky production.

Agreed. Definitely similar, although an entirely different approach, if that makes any sense. It seems Prosthetic has just been pumping out a string of awesome stuff over the past year.
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.01.2012 at 15:20  
Totally agreed.
Btw check out Australian sludge merchants I Exist who are also on Prosthetic.
RavenousBeast - 20.01.2012 at 10:20  
Wonderfully atmosheric, utterly depressing. Much better than Trap Them.
Moosh666 - 20.01.2012 at 15:14  
How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.
Mr. Doctor - 21.01.2012 at 01:40  
Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.


Hehehehe You are funny.
Uldreth - 21.01.2012 at 10:53  
Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.

Ironic how you say that and you have thrash metal bands among your favourites (and Napalm Death! Napalm Death is a grindCORE band and it also had pretty standout HxC elements, pretty much always), considering that "whiny homo-erotic crap punk" is pretty much responsible for thrash metal, which is then responsible for death and black.
Doc Godin - 22.01.2012 at 01:30  
Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

whiny homo-erotic crap

It's incredibly hard to take comments like this seriously. Not strictly saying you are an idiot, but comments like this don't do you any favours. Most people won't give your comments much consideration considering it's just trolling from a person who comes across as some kind of inbred moron.

That being said, are you sure you're listening to the same album? This album doesn't sound like 90's pop punk, nor is it really whiny at all.
Moosh666 - 23.01.2012 at 13:10  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.01.2012 at 01:30

Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

whiny homo-erotic crap

It's incredibly hard to take comments like this seriously. Not strictly saying you are an idiot, but comments like this don't do you any favours. Most people won't give your comments much consideration considering it's just trolling from a person who comes across as some kind of inbred moron.

That being said, are you sure you're listening to the same album? This album doesn't sound like 90's pop punk, nor is it really whiny at all.


I meant the vocals particularly, if they were different I might have found it ok.
Moosh666 - 23.01.2012 at 13:12  
Written by Uldreth on 21.01.2012 at 10:53

Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.

Ironic how you say that and you have thrash metal bands among your favourites (and Napalm Death! Napalm Death is a grindCORE band and it also had pretty standout HxC elements, pretty much always), considering that "whiny homo-erotic crap punk" is pretty much responsible for thrash metal, which is then responsible for death and black.


I was referring to Pop Punk, not the proper Punk that was around in the 70s (Black flag), I have no problem with those bands because as you said, they influenced the music I love XD
Mr. Doctor - 24.01.2012 at 15:50  
Written by Moosh666 on 23.01.2012 at 13:12
I was referring to Pop Punk.


...Yeah, you definitely listened to a completely different album if you say this.
How are these vocals even remotely similar to pop punk?
It's ok if you don't like them... But make comparisons that are actually correct. Not just for the sake of being controversial.

!J.O.O.E.! - 24.01.2012 at 15:57  
Written by Moosh666 on 23.01.2012 at 13:12


I was referring to Pop Punk, not the proper Punk that was around in the 70s (Black flag), I have no problem with those bands because as you said, they influenced the music I love XD

You've obviously never heard pop punk then.

Mr. Doctor - 24.01.2012 at 16:03  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.01.2012 at 15:57
simple plan


I remember when that video came out... I remember crying that day.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.01.2012 at 16:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.01.2012 at 16:03


I remember when that video came out... I remember crying that day.

I cried at pretty much all pop-punk to be honest. I thought the human race was doomed.
Uldreth - 24.01.2012 at 16:41  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.01.2012 at 16:06

I cried at pretty much all pop-punk to be honest. I thought the human race was doomed.

Consider me an evolutionary dead-end but to be completely honest, I still prefer that to almost any glam "metal" or modern-day pop music a thousand times.

Oooookay, maybe not THAT that, that was fucking horrible but

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNOITmHPaQA
This and most bands like this definitely are much better.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.01.2012 at 16:45  
Written by Uldreth on 24.01.2012 at 16:41

Consider me an evolutionary dead-end but to be completely honest, I still prefer that to almost any glam "metal" or modern-day pop music a thousand times.

Oooookay, maybe not THAT that, that was fucking horrible but

I dunno, I don't recall any pop punk that was even worth pissing on. At least in the world of pop you get the occasional good artist like Dido and what have you. Pop punk was just driven by image and the most awful cheese ridden melody imaginable.
Mr. Doctor - 24.01.2012 at 16:54  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 24.01.2012 at 16:45
like Dido


Dido fucking rocks...


That's all I wanted to say.
!J.O.O.E.! - 24.01.2012 at 16:57  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.01.2012 at 16:54


Dido fucking rocks...


That's all I wanted to say.

<3
Moosh666 - 25.01.2012 at 05:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.01.2012 at 15:50

Written by Moosh666 on 23.01.2012 at 13:12
I was referring to Pop Punk.


...Yeah, you definitely listened to a completely different album if you say this.
How are these vocals even remotely similar to pop punk?
It's ok if you don't like them... But make comparisons that are actually correct. Not just for the sake of being controversial.




I wasn't saying it sounded like Pop Punk, I was stating how I didn't like where Punk has been going since the 90s, Pop Punk being another example. I still however do not like this band. Thanks for letting me have free will by the way XD
Thanntos - 10.02.2012 at 02:57  
Written by Moosh666 on 25.01.2012 at 05:26

Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.01.2012 at 15:50

Written by Moosh666 on 23.01.2012 at 13:12
I was referring to Pop Punk.


...Yeah, you definitely listened to a completely different album if you say this.
How are these vocals even remotely similar to pop punk?
It's ok if you don't like them... But make comparisons that are actually correct. Not just for the sake of being controversial.




I wasn't saying it sounded like Pop Punk, I was stating how I didn't like where Punk has been going since the 90s, Pop Punk being another example. I still however do not like this band. Thanks for letting me have free will by the way XD


Its not that anyone is questioning you 'free will''....its that you're totally backtracking on what you said, and have no idea what you're talking about...probably didn't even listen to this...

O and this is HARDCORE punk, not punk like black Flag. Two totally different things. Each with their own storied history dating back to late 70 early 80s
Moosh666 - 13.02.2012 at 14:57  
Written by Thanntos on 10.02.2012 at 02:57

Written by Moosh666 on 25.01.2012 at 05:26

Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.01.2012 at 15:50

Written by Moosh666 on 23.01.2012 at 13:12
I was referring to Pop Punk.


...Yeah, you definitely listened to a completely different album if you say this.
How are these vocals even remotely similar to pop punk?
It's ok if you don't like them... But make comparisons that are actually correct. Not just for the sake of being controversial.




I wasn't saying it sounded like Pop Punk, I was stating how I didn't like where Punk has been going since the 90s, Pop Punk being another example. I still however do not like this band. Thanks for letting me have free will by the way XD


Its not that anyone is questioning you 'free will''....its that you're totally backtracking on what you said, and have no idea what you're talking about...probably didn't even listen to this...

O and this is HARDCORE punk, not punk like black Flag. Two totally different things. Each with their own storied history dating back to late 70 early 80s



I did listen to it, just because YOU like it doesn't mean I have to, and Black Flag IS Hardcore Punk XD
pisymbol - 13.02.2012 at 18:29  
In case anyone else wants to listen, streaming online on AMP Magazine website here.

Since Doc gave it such high remarks, I will give a shot too.
Uldreth - 14.11.2012 at 21:13  
To anyone who actually owns this album - does it come with a lyrics sheet?

I am really curious about the lyrics for Kingdoms but I cannot find it anywhere.
HardSide - 13.10.2013 at 19:34  
Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.


I know I'm late to the party but I just got to listen to this album. Your right on the money, its not harsh or violent, it may be raw because of the echo the guitar gives out, that's about it. It's sounds very nu-metal to me.
Uldreth - 13.10.2013 at 19:42  
Written by HardSide on 13.10.2013 at 19:34

Written by Moosh666 on 20.01.2012 at 15:14

How is this aggressive? Still sounds like the same whiny homo-erotic crap Punk and all it's children have been churning out since the 90s.


I know I'm late to the party but I just got to listen to this album. Your right on the money, its not harsh or violent, it may be raw because of the echo the guitar gives out, that's about it. It's sounds very nu-metal to me.

No, actually it sounds like early 90s metalcore with some sludge influences.

Nothing to do with nu metal. I am starting to think people these days are either deaf or just have absolutely no idea what they are talking about, do you also call Will Haven, Today Is The Day or Burnt By The Sun nu metal and/or pop punk?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Everything Went Black - Cycles Of Light 9 18.01.2012 by Castiel666
Reviews The Black Dahlia Murder - Ritual 6 14.07.2011 by munson
Reviews Suicide Silence - The Black Crown 6 30.07.2011 by Lit.
Reviews Astra - The Black Chord 6 10.04.2012 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Black Tusk - Set The Dial 6 15.11.2011 by BitterCOld



Hits total: 4938 | This month: 37