Rating:
9.0
Aborted - Global Flatline
23 January 2012


01. Omega Mortis
02. Global Flatline
03. Источник Болезни [Feat. Julien Truchan]
04. Coronary Reconstruction
05. Fecal Forgery
06. Of Scabs And Boils
07. Vermicular, Obscene, Obese [Feat. Trevor Strnad]
08. Expurgation Euphoria
09. From A Tepid Whiff
10. The Kallinger Theory
11. Our Father, Who Art Of Feces [Feat. Keijo Niinimaa]
12. Grime [Feat. Jason Netherton]
13. Endstille
14. Eructations Of Carnal Artistry [2011 version] [bonus]
15. Nailed Through Her Cunt [2011 version] [bonus]


Aborted really have pushed the boat out with Global Flatline, and even if the only down-side is that most of the Coronary Reconstruction EP finds its way onto this album too, they are totally re-recorded and much faster, heavier and bloody brutal.

There'll always be someone who finds the effort to whinge and moan about a band deviating from their original sound, but Global Flatline will emphatically put a boot into these faces with its much more brutal approach to death metal than the last few. It's the same brutality we both suffered and enjoyed from the Engineering The Dead album, but with a much tighter band, a clearer sound and a whole lot more swagger.

Global Flatline has taken brutal death metal and modernised it. Aborted make brutal death sound cool and accessible for the first time, ever. Yes there are modern influences present, but over and above everything else Global Flatline is a full-blooded assault.

The band have been tweaking and experimenting with their sound for years now, but Aborted have never sounded better than they do here. They have somehow surpassed the boundary between sheer brutality and catchiness, in that neither is compromised for the other. Global Flatline is a rapid-fire monster that will hook you and keep you going back for more.

If you've been following Aborted for the last decade, chances are you'll know what you're getting yourself into with Global Flatline. With this album however, Aborted have managed to combine the new and old with only the best aspects of each respectively. Global Flatline is brutal, crushing and aggressive, but it also sounds clear and has enough personality and attitude for it to become almost addictive. Aborted really have outdone themselves this time.

--

Brutal Death metal
Belgium
Length: 43:37
Century Media

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Aborted
Album: Global Flatline


 



Written on 26.01.2012 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 469  
Search this topic:  


Metal_Buff - 26.01.2012 at 21:29  
Great review, this is the kind of album I just love.... I admit it, I want some catchy songs! But when I can get them with this level of pummeling brutality I'm double happy! I love how the most accessible, melodic track is titled 'Fecal Forgery', just to fuck with us

Anyways it's a great album, my first of 2012 has set the bar high!
!J.O.O.E.! - 26.01.2012 at 21:37  
I think it's a solid album but nothing more. I had trouble making it through one sitting as the sound became repetitive.
BoxCar Willy - 27.01.2012 at 02:56  
I havent checked this out yet, This review made me.
RockeRoy - 27.01.2012 at 17:53  
I have never realy liked this band to much, but i've tried.. I think they lack the X-factor that Benighted has, but becasue of this review where you promise a much tighter band, a clearer sound and a whole lot more swagger... these are the ingreediens i have missed from this band before. So i will go and work out for an hour or so and listen to the album:) i come back with a first impression
Koen Smits - 27.01.2012 at 19:42  
I agree with the review. I think it's a modern sounding album with a lot of "older" Aborted elements.
A big improvement from their 2008 release. Sven was already a good vocalist, but with this performance he's moved on to beeing an excellent vocalist.
It's about time they headline a big tour.
Maxx666 - 27.01.2012 at 21:10  
Totally changed my perception of Aborted, the only album i liked from them was Gormageddon and Engieering the dead.... but this wow.. i mean i hardly expected Aborted can pull off something like this again... 9/10 from me and outstanding album... highly recommended
Opethian - 28.01.2012 at 01:49  
Nice! I am still waiting for this to ship in the mail! Killer review
strade - 28.01.2012 at 06:34  
Absolutely agree. Outstanding from start to finish, probably the best album of the year so far...
LeKiwi - 28.01.2012 at 20:31  
Was never really a fan of brutal death but the melodic aspects and the variation of both vocal pitch and drum speed has made this a really catchy album.
psykometal - 28.01.2012 at 23:55  
I never really got into Aborted but this review and all these comments is really making me want to check out this album so when I get home later I'm going to jump on youtube to check out some of the tracks and see if this ends up being the album that wins me over...

Edit: So I took some time while I was at work on my breaks throughout the day to revisit Goremageddon on my iPod and for some reason or another that album still failed to really get my attention or win me over. However though I still wanted to give Global Flatline a chance, so when I got home I dl'd the album and I've listened to about half of the album so far and GF has got my attention, so far I love this album and am very much looking forward to giving this album multiple listens on my iPod.

Is it just me or is there really that much variation between those 2 albums or was Goremageddon not one of the highlights of Aborted's career? Should I go ahead and take the time to listen to all the other albums or is this a situation where if I don't particularly care for Goremageddon then I probably won't like any of their other albums and it's just a fluke that for some reason Global Flatline sounds awesome to me?
Cill O' Connor - 29.01.2012 at 14:03  
Nice review, think I might have to give this album a listen. The artwork itself would be enough to win me over if I saw it on a CD store shelf And I was already pretty impressed with the Coronary Reconstruction EP so this will hopefully be that but with more great tracks added on.
Mr. Doctor - 29.01.2012 at 14:42  
Written by psykometal on 28.01.2012 at 23:55
Is it just me or is there really that much variation between those 2 albums or was Goremageddon not one of the highlights of Aborted's career? Should I go ahead and take the time to listen to all the other albums or is this a situation where if I don't particularly care for Goremageddon then I probably won't like any of their other albums and it's just a fluke that for some reason Global Flatline sounds awesome to me?


You should check Engineering The Dead... I mean, everytime I see some praise about Aborted, I mostly hear/read about that album not that much for Goremageddon.
Paul1897 - 02.02.2012 at 08:35  
Just picked this one up today, I'm really enjoying it. Drums and vocals are absolutely INSANE.
.Nick - 11.02.2012 at 21:56  
Excellent new album. It's both brutal and melodic.
Zealot644 - 28.05.2012 at 14:31  
Easily one of my favorite death metal albums.

When I listened to the album stream prior to its release I was expecting "What generic death metal will I be getting here?" but was completely blown away after only two songs in.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Aborted - Slaughter & Apparatus: A Methodical Overture 7.5 01.03.2007 by Herzebeth
Albums Aborted - Global Flatline 6 24.09.2011 by blackdoomy
Albums Aborted - Global Flatline 6 28.09.2011 by speedsymphony
Articles Decapitated, Aborted - Nottingham, England, 1st March 2012 5 03.03.2012 by TrollandDie
Reviews Testament - The Formation Of Damnation 4.5 22.04.2008 by Clint W.



Hits total: 6455 | This month: 53