Rating:
7.9
El Caco - Hatred, Love & Diagrams
27 January 2012


01. After I'm Gone
02. Hatred
03. Autopsy
04. Equivalence
05. Go Forward
06. Confessions
07. Sixty To Zero
08. Skeleton
09. She Said
10. Disconnect


Just because Tool only release an album once in a blue moon, doesn't mean you can't dig on some very similar tunes in the meantime. Not strictly a Tool knock off, but damn close enough to have an incredibly accessible appeal, especially to fans of those heavy prog-rock legends.

It's a swaggering, dark prog rock built with a lot of attention to detail. It's emotional and passionate, yet there is still a cold sort of feeling that gives it a sense of despair. Hatred, Love & Diagrams is sort of a nice fence where technical prowess meets raw emotion. More times than not, bands tend to swing too far in one direction or another; some personal message outweighing songwriting, or too much showy technique, and no emotion. El Caco definitely manage to not only balance out these two aspects, but use each to enhance the other. The transfer from massive riff to massive riff is a nice display of skill behind the guitars & bass, but the champion of this album is definitely drummer Fredrik Wallumrød, who swings from basic rock jams to complicated drum patterns with controlled precision, even while the music is at it's mellowest. The riffs have that massive appeal, almost sounding like a Tool-meets-Pelican sort of hybrid, but everything is enhanced by the desperation behind the vocals to give it that emotional edge.

Hatred, Love & Diagrams quite a nice little prog album, for sure, but it isn't quite a home-run. For one, the vocals do have a tendency to get a bit grating by the end, a bit squeeky you could say. Their main issue seems to lie in the same ballpark as their obvious musical mentors; the massive riffs which lie in-between each of the high points sound incredible at first, but their repetition in almost every track gives the album a very samey feel by the end.

Hatred, Love & Diagrams is a nice, slightly more simplistic, radio-friendly take on prog, but engaging enough to let yourself drift off into.


 



Written on 04.02.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 04.02.2012 at 12:33  
"Their main issue seems to lie in the same ballpark as their obvious musical mentors; the massive riffs which lie in-between each of the high points sound incredible at first, but their repetition in almost every track gives the album a very samey feel by the end."
And this is why, my children, Mora doesn't like Tool.
Mr. Doctor - 04.02.2012 at 12:53  
Written by Milena on 04.02.2012 at 12:33
Mora doesn't like Tool.


You fucking suck



Needless to say I don't think Tool has that problem at all. One of the few prog stuff I enjoy all the time.
Will check this out of curiosity . I can only take so much prog but let's see if I dig them.
BloodTears - 04.02.2012 at 12:54  
This album sounds interesting, should check it out.
Milena - 04.02.2012 at 13:43  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 12:53

I can only take so much prog

Right back at ya
Mr. Doctor - 04.02.2012 at 14:09  
Written by Milena on 04.02.2012 at 13:43

Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 12:53

I can only take so much prog

Right back at ya


As always, I didn't really this. But whatever, my feelings are still hurt
At least we agree with the gothic awards
Milena - 04.02.2012 at 14:33  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.02.2012 at 14:09

At least we agree with the gothic awards

Yes, that's more than what I find in common with some other people
Edmund Fogg - 04.02.2012 at 14:54  
Tool meets Pelican... Added El Caco to bands to check out.

Edit: Checked a couples of tracks and I prefer the instru parts to the actual singing parts. I just cant get into his tone. Don't know why.
R'Vannith - 04.02.2012 at 15:01  
Not much of a Tool fan, but I do like Pelican. Sounds like a blast.
Introspekrieg - 04.02.2012 at 20:06  
Checked them out after the great review, not bad at all. Missing a little bit of something in each department, but a good listening experience nevertheless.
Unhealer - 07.02.2012 at 19:27  
El Caco???? Lol, that is slang for "the thief" in my country, can't believe they are Norwegian.
I'll do my best to like this band so I can tell people here "I listen to El Caco"

Nah seriously, If it sounds like tool I should check this.
It is a strange phenomena that whenever a "new style" shows up and a lot bands follow the trend everything is cool but if you sound like Tool, you are to be crucified
inakaa - 11.02.2013 at 15:42  
I find this album excellent! The vocals are strong and deep with this hurt feeling to it, the guitar is just- amazing! I loved the entire album and bought a signed CD last spring

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pushking - The World As We Love It 6 15.02.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Bible Of The Devil - For The Love Of Thugs And Fools 6 04.05.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Otherwise - True Love Never Dies 6 12.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Karnak Seti - In Harmonic Entropy 4.5 04.02.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Cadaveria - Horror Metal 4.5 10.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 3107 | This month: 63