Rating:
6.7
Opera IX - Strix Maledictae In Aeternum
24 January 2012


01. Strix The Prologue (Intro)
02. 1313 (Eradicate The False Idols)
03. Dead Tree Ballad
04. Vox In Rama (Part 1)
05. Vox In Rama (Part 2)
06. Mandragora
07. Eyes In The Well
08. Earth And Fire
09. Ecate - The Ritual (Intro)
10. Ecate
11. Nemus Tempora Maleficarum
12. Historia Nocturna


Even though their old lead vocalist Cadaveria left back in 2001 to go do bigger things with shittier album covers, and despite their eight year hiatus, Opera IX, the Italian symphonic black metal band from back in the day, still exists... in case you forgot or something.

Shit's changed since 2004 when they released their previous album though. A black man is president of the United States, Lost ended, and I'm not 13 anymore. Three big things. So the question has to be, have these guys overcome their 2004iness and made something fresh-sounding we, with our iPod Nanos and Nintendo DS's, can enjoy?

Not really.

It will almost certainly please fans of their old material, though. Essentially what we've got here is a whole lot more of the same on our hands.

As with their 2004 album, this is a pretty straight-forward symphonic black disc with one or two nods to folk tunes. It's got the synthy ambiance, a few folky melodies, some fire crackling thrown in for the fuck of it, and a sturdy black metal core buried somewhere inside. And it's all executed pretty well. These guys are vets of this kind of thing and that's evident throughout.

So, in other words, you've heard this shit before. Enough said.


Band profile: Opera IX
Album: Strix Maledictae In Aeternum


 



Written on 06.02.2012 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 163  
Search this topic:  


Kuroboshi - 06.02.2012 at 06:38  
"It will almost certainly please fans of their old material, though."

Then I'm sure I won't like. But I'll check it out just to be nice to them.
Milena - 06.02.2012 at 12:53  
Awesome review.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.02.2012 at 14:19  
Hahaha more or less along the lines of my review even though I scored it 61/100
Mr. Doctor - 06.02.2012 at 16:13  
Big fucking meh... I tried to enjoy this band but I failed everytime.
I liked your review though.
Awesomesaurus - 06.02.2012 at 20:53  
This band is constantly heading downwards since The Black Opera.
wormdrink414 - 06.02.2012 at 21:36  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2012 at 14:19

Hahaha more or less along the lines of my review even though I scored it 61/100

"skilfully put together, but so immensely sterile that you can even let it loose on intensive care without there being a chance of infections."

Nailed it.
Diablos_ - 06.02.2012 at 23:13  
Sounds promising judging from this review! Their music video track is really good, so looking forward to test this album!
Opethian - 07.02.2012 at 01:23  
You call that a review? I read more on the John
Mattybu - 07.02.2012 at 05:13  
Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 01:23

You call that a review? I read more on the John


Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.
Opethian - 07.02.2012 at 21:00  
I can look this review up on Youtube and find someone who has absolutely no idea who the band is, with no background information and i guarantee it will be a more in depth review.

The individual who shat this out in 5 minutes was obviously upset do to the fact that " He has heard this Shit before". Review music because you love it, not because its the 'new album of the week and i need something to bitch about' - Fin
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.02.2012 at 21:16  
Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 21:00

I can look this review up on Youtube and find someone who has absolutely no idea who the band is, with no background information and i guarantee it will be a more in depth review.

The individual who shat this out in 5 minutes was obviously upset do to the fact that " He has heard this Shit before". Review music because you love it, not because its the 'new album of the week and i need something to bitch about' - Fin


He reviewed it cause he got it from the label to review.
Mr. Doctor - 07.02.2012 at 22:17  
^ Lols at Opethian.
I'm always surprised that people don't know (or refuse to know) that the reviews from new albums are always (one exception or two but unlikely) a request from the label/band.

Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 05:13

Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 01:23

You call that a review? I read more on the John

Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.


Can't tell if serious or trolling.
Mattybu - 07.02.2012 at 22:42  
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.02.2012 at 22:17


Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.


Can't tell if serious or trolling.


Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.

also lol @ the statement above somewhere "only review albums you love".... Makes no sense, defeats the purpose of reviews in the first place.
Mr. Doctor - 07.02.2012 at 22:48  
Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 22:42
Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.


Nah, what I meant was that I didn't understand if you thought it was way too short or if it was okay considering it wasn't something THAT deep to write about.
Mattybu - 07.02.2012 at 23:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.02.2012 at 22:48

Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 22:42
Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.


Nah, what I meant was that I didn't understand if you thought it was way too short or if it was okay considering it wasn't something THAT deep to write about.


Ohhh, well in that case it would be the latter of those two. Keep in mind I haven't heard the album but yeah, not everything requires a really drawn out review. I enjoyed reading this one, and it was to the point. Good work in my books.
Robstar - 08.02.2012 at 00:44  
Personally Speaking Black Opera is their best album in their entire career... Lets see how this album sounds and then we;ll talk
Filipecosteira - 23.02.2012 at 22:57  
Written by Robstar on 08.02.2012 at 00:44

Personally Speaking Black Opera is their best album in their entire career... Lets see how this album sounds and then we;ll talk


I totally agree!!!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Opera IX - Strix Maledictae In Aeternum 7.5 12.12.2011 by Diablos_
Reviews Opera IX - Anphisbena 4 08.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews SSS - Problems To The Answer 3 04.08.2011 by K†ulu
Reviews Kilmara - Don't Fear The Wolf 3 05.11.2011 by Vikcen
Reviews Twins Crew - Judgement Night 3 17.05.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2757 | This month: 5