Opera IX - Strix Maledictae In Aeternum review



Reviewer:
6.7

18 users:
6.78
Band: Opera IX
Album: Strix Maledictae In Aeternum
Release date: January 2012


01. Strix The Prologue (Intro)
02. 1313 (Eradicate The False Idols)
03. Dead Tree Ballad
04. Vox In Rama (Part 1)
05. Vox In Rama (Part 2)
06. Mandragora
07. Eyes In The Well
08. Earth And Fire
09. Ecate - The Ritual (Intro)
10. Ecate
11. Nemus Tempora Maleficarum
12. Historia Nocturna


Even though their old lead vocalist Cadaveria left back in 2001 to go do bigger things with shittier album covers, and despite their eight year hiatus, Opera IX, the Italian symphonic black metal band from back in the day, still exists... in case you forgot or something.

Shit's changed since 2004 when they released their previous album though. A black man is president of the United States, Lost ended, and I'm not 13 anymore. Three big things. So the question has to be, have these guys overcome their 2004iness and made something fresh-sounding we, with our iPod Nanos and Nintendo DS's, can enjoy?

Not really.

It will almost certainly please fans of their old material, though. Essentially what we've got here is a whole lot more of the same on our hands.

As with their 2004 album, this is a pretty straight-forward symphonic black disc with one or two nods to folk tunes. It's got the synthy ambiance, a few folky melodies, some fire crackling thrown in for the fuck of it, and a sturdy black metal core buried somewhere inside. And it's all executed pretty well. These guys are vets of this kind of thing and that's evident throughout.

So, in other words, you've heard this shit before. Enough said.


 



Written on 06.02.2012 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 172 users
06.02.2012 - 06:38
Kuroboshi
"It will almost certainly please fans of their old material, though."

Then I'm sure I won't like. But I'll check it out just to be nice to them.
Loading...
06.02.2012 - 12:53
Milena
Learning To "X"
Awesome review.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
06.02.2012 - 14:19
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Hahaha more or less along the lines of my review even though I scored it 61/100
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.02.2012 - 16:13
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Big fucking meh... I tried to enjoy this band but I failed everytime.
I liked your review though.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
06.02.2012 - 20:53
Awesomesaurus
This band is constantly heading downwards since The Black Opera.
----
Always be a poet, even in prose.

A man who wants to lead the whole orchestra - must turn his back to the crowd.
Loading...
06.02.2012 - 21:36
wormdrink414
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2012 at 14:19

Hahaha more or less along the lines of my review even though I scored it 61/100

"skilfully put together, but so immensely sterile that you can even let it loose on intensive care without there being a chance of infections."

Nailed it.
Loading...
06.02.2012 - 23:13
Diablos_
Sounds promising judging from this review! Their music video track is really good, so looking forward to test this album!
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 01:23
Opethian
You call that a review? I read more on the John
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 05:13
Mattybu
Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 01:23

You call that a review? I read more on the John


Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 21:00
Opethian
I can look this review up on Youtube and find someone who has absolutely no idea who the band is, with no background information and i guarantee it will be a more in depth review.

The individual who shat this out in 5 minutes was obviously upset do to the fact that " He has heard this Shit before". Review music because you love it, not because its the 'new album of the week and i need something to bitch about' - Fin
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 21:16
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 21:00

I can look this review up on Youtube and find someone who has absolutely no idea who the band is, with no background information and i guarantee it will be a more in depth review.

The individual who shat this out in 5 minutes was obviously upset do to the fact that " He has heard this Shit before". Review music because you love it, not because its the 'new album of the week and i need something to bitch about' - Fin


He reviewed it cause he got it from the label to review.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
07.02.2012 - 22:17
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
^ Lols at Opethian.
I'm always surprised that people don't know (or refuse to know) that the reviews from new albums are always (one exception or two but unlikely) a request from the label/band.

Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 05:13

Written by Opethian on 07.02.2012 at 01:23

You call that a review? I read more on the John

Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.


Can't tell if serious or trolling.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 22:42
Mattybu
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.02.2012 at 22:17


Yeah despite being humorous, informative, and to the point, I think it could use a couple thousand more words or so.


Can't tell if serious or trolling.


Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.

also lol @ the statement above somewhere "only review albums you love".... Makes no sense, defeats the purpose of reviews in the first place.
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 22:48
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 22:42
Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.


Nah, what I meant was that I didn't understand if you thought it was way too short or if it was okay considering it wasn't something THAT deep to write about.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
07.02.2012 - 23:03
Mattybu
Written by Mr. Doctor on 07.02.2012 at 22:48

Written by Mattybu on 07.02.2012 at 22:42
Being serious... A review doesn't always need to be lengthy to get a point across. Some albums require deeper analysis or interpretation but a lot are pretty simple.


Nah, what I meant was that I didn't understand if you thought it was way too short or if it was okay considering it wasn't something THAT deep to write about.


Ohhh, well in that case it would be the latter of those two. Keep in mind I haven't heard the album but yeah, not everything requires a really drawn out review. I enjoyed reading this one, and it was to the point. Good work in my books.
Loading...
08.02.2012 - 00:44
Robstar
Personally Speaking Black Opera is their best album in their entire career... Lets see how this album sounds and then we;ll talk
----
Nothing is unreacheable
Loading...
23.02.2012 - 22:57
Filipecosteira
Written by Robstar on 08.02.2012 at 00:44

Personally Speaking Black Opera is their best album in their entire career... Lets see how this album sounds and then we;ll talk


I totally agree!!!
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3542 | This month: 9