Rating:
N/A
Orbeth - The Way
6 February 2012


01. Ebb And Flow
02. Home
03. Lost Yet Connected
04. The Whisper In The Wind
05. Orbethian Queen
06. Time Hole Closing
07. Fire Dream
08. Path To Abaddon
09. Meus Universum............Meus


Orbeth is the baby of Ben "Bijimitsu" White, formerly of Mithras. He plays all instruments and writes the music for this spacey, atmospheric progressive metal band. With a tag like that, are you as excited as I am?

The first track seems like a nice, cool intro with some spooky, spoken male vocals. I don't love spoken vocals but whatever, I'm ready for this to unleash! The second track gets going, no unleashing, and MORE SPOKEN WORD. Oh, dear. Is the whole album going to be like this?

Yes, it is, but a few songs later I get over it and begin to understand their groove. If you have reservations about spoken word then relax, you'll get over it, too. The vocals flow between spoken and darkly whispered, never rising above a mezzo forte despite the music sometimes charging ahead into a whole range of dynamics. This saves it, and after a while the vocals start to make more sense as a vital element of this specific atmosphere which is mystic, cloudy, and menacing.

Maybe because so many bands use spoken passages as intros preceding something explosive, I kept expecting Orbeth to break loose into something bigger during the first few songs. In the beginning the music seems to be hinting towards some fiery climaxes that never fully materialize. But stick with it, and you'll see how it all fits in the bigger picture.

Sometimes the mood of a song felt stunted, held back (musically and vocally), and other times the pensiveness works in its favor, like in "Path To Abaddon" where the vocals are forcibly whispering about hell while the guitar is madly soloing above. Delightfully unsettling.

The production is very hazy but there is no doubt that the music is great stuff. The drumming can get downright maniacal, and the guitar solos are darkly dreamy and epic. It doesn't always build when I want it to, but I seem to enjoy it more and more with each listen. The jury's still out for me; now you go listen and see what happens.


 



Written on 13.02.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 191  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 13.02.2012 at 15:04  
Well I initially clicked on this because of the horrendous cover art but then I spotted the word Mithras and that intrigued me. I've always liked Mithras' spacey, atmospheric sections and going by the one song I've heard (Lost Yet Connected) it sounds interesting. Probably not the sort of thing I'd usually go for mind. The spoken words are kinda rubbish really. Would have probably been better to leave it instrumental or something as the music is quite nice.

But I agree, the whispered vocals constantly sound like a build-up that never realises itself. (afer listening to a couple of tracks now)
Milena - 13.02.2012 at 15:22  
Spacey, atmospheric progressive metal band? The drumming can get downright maniacal, and the guitar solos are darkly dreamy and epic? My, I'm excited to hear this.

About the build-up that never realizes itself... my whole life is like that so I don't think I'll have a problem with it
Ag Fox - 13.02.2012 at 15:38  
Listened to lost yet connected. awesome.
thanks for reviewing this. The mentioning of Mithras caught my eye haha
BloodTears - 13.02.2012 at 16:27  
Very good description of the album, made me want to listen to it!
Susan - 13.02.2012 at 16:36  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.02.2012 at 15:04

\Would have probably been better to leave it instrumental or something as the music is quite nice.

But I agree, the whispered vocals constantly sound like a build-up that never realises itself.


About the build-ups - YES! It was very frustrating at first, and for a while actually. Once I stopped expecting the explosion and satisfaction then I started enjoying the music more, taking it for what it is and not what I wanted it to be. But still, I really wanted it to be shaped differently.

And I thought about saying it'd be better as an instrumental but I'm not sure. At least the vocals wouldn't be hinting at non-existent build-ups, but the production is so hazy I feel like the lack of vocals may have left a hole. Who knows... this is a tricky one.
INÆRIS - 13.02.2012 at 18:56  
Way to use the same font as Cynic! Geez.
Edmund Fogg - 13.02.2012 at 19:22  
The cover made me think of the Terminator between 2 time travels ( I know he's supposed to be naked, but it's the impression I got). As for the music. I'm still uncertain. It's really good background music for reading, but It's not something I would dedicate a full listen to.
Unhealer - 13.02.2012 at 19:39  
The cover, the song titles and your review reminded me of the article about Progressive Rock on cracked.com

I'll chech this out
King Bonzo - 13.02.2012 at 20:25  
Listened on youtube. Kinda wish this was a instrumental band like Mastery
Cryzpin - 13.02.2012 at 21:46  
This is definitely not my kind of music but i do like the review very much!
Boxcar Willy - 13.02.2012 at 21:54  
Written by Cryzpin on 13.02.2012 at 21:46

This is definitely not my kind of music but i do like the review very much!

^This.
Susan - 13.02.2012 at 23:25  
Aww, thanks guys.
Milena - 13.02.2012 at 23:45  
Written by Susan on 13.02.2012 at 23:25

Aww, thanks guys.

See? You should totally review occasionally, the extreme metal boys are going wild in our review section I'll try to do some flooding of my own though
Mr. Doctor - 13.02.2012 at 23:53  
Came here because of the "so awful it's funny" artwork, the Mithras comment and the review... Good review but the music is just meh at best.
Susan - 14.02.2012 at 01:16  
Written by Milena on 13.02.2012 at 23:45

Written by Susan on 13.02.2012 at 23:25

Aww, thanks guys.

See? You should totally review occasionally, the extreme metal boys are going wild in our review section I'll try to do some flooding of my own though


Silly girl, I DO review occassionally
Rulatore - 14.02.2012 at 02:05  
I liked the instrumental, but the spoken word isnt for me

ps: also caught by the Mithras mention
Milena - 14.02.2012 at 03:36  
Written by Susan on 14.02.2012 at 01:16

Silly girl, I DO review occassionally

But MORE. When you're not tired of making sense in other people's sentences ofc.
R'Vannith - 14.02.2012 at 04:20  
I smell a concept album, should be interesting. Wonder what an 'Orbeth' is (band name and the track 'Orbethian Queen' make it sound like a theme). Nice review btw
Doc Godin - 14.02.2012 at 08:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.02.2012 at 15:04

Well I initially clicked on this because of the horrendous cover art...

Good to see I'm not the only one.

Though progressive + a lot of spoken word bits? Yeah, doesn't sound like this would be for me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Orbeth - The Way 6 10.12.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Mourn In Silence - Until The Stars Won't Fall 4.5 30.12.2012 by
Articles Visions From The Darkside - Metal Talk Radio - 15th April 2013 3.5 24.04.2013 by seafood
News Kamelot - New Album On The Way; N. American Tour Dates 3 04.06.2006 by
News Rammstein - New Album On The Way 3 07.11.2008 by Slyfang



Hits total: 2817 | This month: 5