Brutal Truth - End Time review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.0

29 users:
7.31
Band: Brutal Truth
Album: End Time
Release date: September 2011


01. Malice
02. Simple Math
03. End Time
04. Fuck Cancer
05. Celebratory Gunfire
06. Small Talk
07. .58 Caliber
08. Swift And Violent [Swift version]
09. Crawling Man Blues
10. Lottery
11. Warm Embrace Of Poverty
12. Old World Order
13. Butcher
14. Killing Planet Earth
15. Gut-Check
16. All Work And No Play
17. Addicted
18. Sweet Dreams
19. Echo Friendly Discharge
20. Twenty Bag
21. Trash
22. Drink Up
23. Control Room
24. Dead [Napalm Death cover] [Deluxe bonus]
25. Money Stinks [D.R.I. cover] [Deluxe bonus]
26. White Clam Sauce [NYC Mayhem cover] [Deluxe bonus]
27. Swift And Violent [Violent version] [Deluxe bonus]
28. S.O.B. [S.O.B. cover] [Deluxe bonus]
29. The Nightmare Continues [Discharge cover] [Deluxe bonus]


Seriously guys, what the fuck? I'm disappointed with all of you. I expected war, madness, massive cases of whiplash and tinnitus or at least a decent riot in my backyard when hell broke lose a while ago. I thought it was going to be big news but instead I get a serious absence of a certain musical piece... In the newspapers I don't see any headlines regarding mass awareness of a certain violent and chaotic variety. It was my understanding that everyone had heard about the bird Brutal Truth's latest album. So I took charge and dropped everything: University, social life, my health, my grandma… All in order to make sure everybody heard the massive words: End Time.

Now, there are very few reasons to just drop one of your sick relatives down the stairs… Fortunately for me and my current lawsuit, Brutal Truth just covered all of them so I can easily rest my case. These crazy veterans basically 1-up'd themselves on all fronts. The strength of this band is the fact that every band member is astonishing in his performance but none of them takes the lead and shines more than the others.

The drumming is all over the place here, screaming "fuck you!" to those that just go the easy way when it comes to fast music like grindcore. Rich Hoak uses the drum fills, double pedals and blastbeats tastefully to create an air-tight and muscular sound that lets nothing escape. Along with the sludgy and so fat-it's-obscene bass lines of Dan Lilker, they create a massive backbone for this album to just roll through things. Let's not forget the other members though! Kevin Sharp is still a maniac behind the mic, changing tones and pitches while growling, screaming and basically spitting at you with scorn like it's the easiest thing in the world. What many will notice first here are the guitars, though; Erik Burke ended up being a brilliant addition to the group with his creative and schizophrenic performance. Groove, noisy feedback, bizarre dissonance and brutal riffs… He got it all right. What more can you ask?

With End Time, Brutal Truth proves that there is a lot you can do with grindcore... Far more than what many bands dare to do, which is probably why this little beast might be hard to get into for some people. Hell, they even went adventurous enough to make a crushing 15 minute noise song just in case the first 22 tracks didn't break all your bones already. So for everyone who forgot to check out this release: punch yourself in the face… and then punch yourself two more times so you can get used to the feeling before you click "play."


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


 



Written on 19.02.2012 by An extremely lazy reviewer but he's so cute you'd forgive him for it.


Comments

Comments: 19   Visited by: 344 users
20.02.2012 - 13:46
Absak
This album is very meh for me. I'd probably give it a 7 or something. Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses, Need To Control and Evolution Through Revolution are still a lot better than this, just my opinion.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 14:11
vezzy
Stallmanite
I'd give it an 8. It was pretty good, better than Evolution Through Revolution.
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 16:18
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
A well everybody's heard...
Nice reference and review
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 16:42
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Haha, fun review
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 18:46
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Boxcar Willy on 20.02.2012 at 16:18
A well everybody's heard... Nice reference and review

Nice of you to comment on it! I guess I'm a *bit* biased but hey, all reviews are biased. I really liked this stuff and I felt it was an improvement from the previous one (which was also really good). The whole first paragraph sums up how I felt about the album and the lack of attention it got I still don't understand what's not to like.

Written by Absak on 20.02.2012 at 13:46

This album is very meh for me. I'd probably give it a 7 or something. Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses, Need To Control and Evolution Through Revolution are still a lot better than this, just my opinion.


I haven't heard their debut yet but I find Need To Control extremely bland. Daring experimentations that unfortunately falied most of the time. Gave it a 7. ETR was pretty good, a better change in sound but not as mature as this one. But hey, just my opinion.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 19:12
vezzy
Stallmanite
Oh fuck.

I mixed up their debut with Evolution Through Revolution.

I fixed it now, but...

GODDAMMIT! *cans.wav*
----
Licensed under the GPLv3.
Relinquish proprietary software for a greater GNU/America.
Loading...
20.02.2012 - 19:56
silenius
Eargasm ARGGGHHH i love this album, great review aswell mate! This album has been my ´´going to work´´ album since it came out^^
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 02:09
errorcode99
A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 04:05
Void Eater
Account deleted
Bu Bu Bu Brutal! Truth! Brutal is the truth!
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 16:04
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 02:09

A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!


What is the problem with Grindcore being original? There ARE bands pushing the envelope in grindcore and there are many examples.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 17:38
errorcode99
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.02.2012 at 16:04

Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 02:09

A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!


What is the problem with Grindcore being original? There ARE bands pushing the envelope in grindcore and there are many examples.

I hope there are! i was just being silly in my comment
Loading...
21.02.2012 - 22:27
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 17:38
I hope there are! i was just being silly in my comment


I do understand you though! Grindcpre is an odd beast if you ask me. It's very easy to view many bands as similar and that is also perfectly understandable. I know it took me a while to get into the genre a few years back but now I fully embrace it and the more you listen to it the more you see the differences between the cliche bands and those who try to push the envelope. While not being shockfull, Brutal Truth have a very original sound in terms of guitar tune and overall structure to the songs not to mention the genre experimentation with noise.

Cheers!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.02.2012 - 08:00
AngelCorpse13
I must say that this BT offering was really interesting compared to some of the other grindcore titles I had heard in the last year or so. "Fuck the Facts" had a good release, but "End Time" blew it out of the water as far as taking a sound and actually pushing the envelope with it in new ways.

I agree with the review, and I can definitely get on board with the reviewer's enthusiasm.
Loading...
23.02.2012 - 21:13
Rulatore
At the time I didnt find it amazing, maybe I'll listen to it later

Edit: Well... 9.5 would be better
Loading...
23.02.2012 - 21:25
Vox Monster
I finally decided to register because of this Brutal Truth review. I'm just glad that you felt the same way about this album. This is a great Grindcore album that shows the many different ways this genre can develop. This is no holds barred Grind dripping with grit and attitude. A top notch release from a pioneer in the genre. Also check out Total Fucking Destruction featuring the same drummer. That is one of many favorite albums also.
Loading...
25.02.2012 - 18:13
Absak
Written by Vox Monster on 23.02.2012 at 21:25

I finally decided to register because of this Brutal Truth review. I'm just glad that you felt the same way about this album. This is a great Grindcore album that shows the many different ways this genre can develop. This is no holds barred Grind dripping with grit and attitude. A top notch release from a pioneer in the genre. Also check out Total Fucking Destruction featuring the same drummer. That is one of many favorite albums also.

TFD put out the most lackluster grind album in 2011 I have heard and End Time wasn't far behind.
Loading...
25.02.2012 - 21:01
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Absak on 25.02.2012 at 18:13
TFD put out the most lackluster grind album in 2011 I have heard and End Time wasn't far behind.


Well, it's all a matter for opinion. I don't agree with you at all and neither does he I suppose.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
27.02.2012 - 19:50
3rdWorld
The Psilosopher
Great review.... Reading the first paragraph... I thought it was Doc Godin. But its you, the other Doc. Great review. The thing that elevates this is the lack of slick production, that is a smart choice and pays off well. It is way better this way... that is not as slick as those recent Fuck the facts releases.
Loading...
27.07.2013 - 19:22
mz
I really liked the first sentence
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...

Hits total: 6483 | This month: 11