Bandcamp music player

Rating:
9.0
Brutal Truth - End Time
27 September 2011


01. Malice
02. Simple Math
03. End Time
04. Fuck Cancer
05. Celebratory Gunfire
06. Small Talk
07. .58 Caliber
08. Swift And Violent [Swift version]
09. Crawling Man Blues
10. Lottery
11. Warm Embrace Of Poverty
12. Old World Order
13. Butcher
14. Killing Planet Earth
15. Gut-Check
16. All Work And No Play
17. Addicted
18. Sweet Dreams
19. Echo Friendly Discharge
20. Twenty Bag
21. Trash
22. Drink Up
23. Control Room
24. Dead [Napalm Death cover] [Deluxe bonus]
25. Money Stinks [D.R.I. cover] [Deluxe bonus]
26. White Clam Sauce [NYC Mayhem cover] [Deluxe bonus]
27. Swift And Violent [Violent version] [Deluxe bonus]
28. S.O.B. [S.O.B. cover] [Deluxe bonus]
29. The Nightmare Continues [Discharge cover] [Deluxe bonus]


Seriously guys, what the fuck? I'm disappointed with all of you. I expected war, madness, massive cases of whiplash and tinnitus or at least a decent riot in my backyard when hell broke lose a while ago. I thought it was going to be big news but instead I get a serious absence of a certain musical piece... In the newspapers I don't see any headlines regarding mass awareness of a certain violent and chaotic variety. It was my understanding that everyone had heard about the bird Brutal Truth's latest album. So I took charge and dropped everything: University, social life, my health, my grandma… All in order to make sure everybody heard the massive words: End Time.

Now, there are very few reasons to just drop one of your sick relatives down the stairs… Fortunately for me and my current lawsuit, Brutal Truth just covered all of them so I can easily rest my case. These crazy veterans basically 1-up'd themselves on all fronts. The strength of this band is the fact that every band member is astonishing in his performance but none of them takes the lead and shines more than the others.

The drumming is all over the place here, screaming "fuck you!" to those that just go the easy way when it comes to fast music like grindcore. Rich Hoak uses the drum fills, double pedals and blastbeats tastefully to create an air-tight and muscular sound that lets nothing escape. Along with the sludgy and so fat-it's-obscene bass lines of Dan Lilker, they create a massive backbone for this album to just roll through things. Let's not forget the other members though! Kevin Sharp is still a maniac behind the mic, changing tones and pitches while growling, screaming and basically spitting at you with scorn like it's the easiest thing in the world. What many will notice first here are the guitars, though; Erik Burke ended up being a brilliant addition to the group with his creative and schizophrenic performance. Groove, noisy feedback, bizarre dissonance and brutal riffs… He got it all right. What more can you ask?

With End Time, Brutal Truth proves that there is a lot you can do with grindcore... Far more than what many bands dare to do, which is probably why this little beast might be hard to get into for some people. Hell, they even went adventurous enough to make a crushing 15 minute noise song just in case the first 22 tracks didn't break all your bones already. So for everyone who forgot to check out this release: punch yourself in the face… and then punch yourself two more times so you can get used to the feeling before you click "play."

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Brutal Truth
Album: End Time


 


written by Mr. Doctor | 19.02.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 341  
Search this topic:  


Absak - 20.02.2012 at 13:46  
This album is very meh for me. I'd probably give it a 7 or something. Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses, Need To Control and Evolution Through Revolution are still a lot better than this, just my opinion.
vezzy - 20.02.2012 at 14:11  
I'd give it an 8. It was pretty good, better than Evolution Through Revolution.
BoxCar Willy - 20.02.2012 at 16:18  
A well everybody's heard...
Nice reference and review
Ag Fox - 20.02.2012 at 16:42  
Haha, fun review
Mr. Doctor - 20.02.2012 at 18:46  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 20.02.2012 at 16:18
A well everybody's heard... Nice reference and review

Nice of you to comment on it! I guess I'm a *bit* biased but hey, all reviews are biased. I really liked this stuff and I felt it was an improvement from the previous one (which was also really good). The whole first paragraph sums up how I felt about the album and the lack of attention it got I still don't understand what's not to like.

Written by Absak on 20.02.2012 at 13:46

This album is very meh for me. I'd probably give it a 7 or something. Extreme Conditions Demand Extreme Responses, Need To Control and Evolution Through Revolution are still a lot better than this, just my opinion.


I haven't heard their debut yet but I find Need To Control extremely bland. Daring experimentations that unfortunately falied most of the time. Gave it a 7. ETR was pretty good, a better change in sound but not as mature as this one. But hey, just my opinion.
vezzy - 20.02.2012 at 19:12  
Oh fuck.

I mixed up their debut with Evolution Through Revolution.

I fixed it now, but...

GODDAMMIT! *cans.wav*
silenius - 20.02.2012 at 19:56  
Eargasm ARGGGHHH i love this album, great review aswell mate! This album has been my ´´going to work´´ album since it came out^^
errorcode99 - 21.02.2012 at 02:09  
A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!
Void Eater - 21.02.2012 at 04:05  
Bu Bu Bu Brutal! Truth! Brutal is the truth!
Mr. Doctor - 21.02.2012 at 16:04  
Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 02:09

A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!


What is the problem with Grindcore being original? There ARE bands pushing the envelope in grindcore and there are many examples.
errorcode99 - 21.02.2012 at 17:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.02.2012 at 16:04

Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 02:09

A grindcore album that gets a 10 in originality? hilariously written though!


What is the problem with Grindcore being original? There ARE bands pushing the envelope in grindcore and there are many examples.

I hope there are! i was just being silly in my comment
Mr. Doctor - 21.02.2012 at 22:27  
Written by errorcode99 on 21.02.2012 at 17:38
I hope there are! i was just being silly in my comment


I do understand you though! Grindcpre is an odd beast if you ask me. It's very easy to view many bands as similar and that is also perfectly understandable. I know it took me a while to get into the genre a few years back but now I fully embrace it and the more you listen to it the more you see the differences between the cliche bands and those who try to push the envelope. While not being shockfull, Brutal Truth have a very original sound in terms of guitar tune and overall structure to the songs not to mention the genre experimentation with noise.

Cheers!
AngelCorpse13 - 23.02.2012 at 08:00  
I must say that this BT offering was really interesting compared to some of the other grindcore titles I had heard in the last year or so. "Fuck the Facts" had a good release, but "End Time" blew it out of the water as far as taking a sound and actually pushing the envelope with it in new ways.

I agree with the review, and I can definitely get on board with the reviewer's enthusiasm.
Rulatore - 23.02.2012 at 21:13  
At the time I didnt find it amazing, maybe I'll listen to it later

Edit: Well... 9.5 would be better
Vox Monster - 23.02.2012 at 21:25  
I finally decided to register because of this Brutal Truth review. I'm just glad that you felt the same way about this album. This is a great Grindcore album that shows the many different ways this genre can develop. This is no holds barred Grind dripping with grit and attitude. A top notch release from a pioneer in the genre. Also check out Total Fucking Destruction featuring the same drummer. That is one of many favorite albums also.
Absak - 25.02.2012 at 18:13  
Written by Vox Monster on 23.02.2012 at 21:25

I finally decided to register because of this Brutal Truth review. I'm just glad that you felt the same way about this album. This is a great Grindcore album that shows the many different ways this genre can develop. This is no holds barred Grind dripping with grit and attitude. A top notch release from a pioneer in the genre. Also check out Total Fucking Destruction featuring the same drummer. That is one of many favorite albums also.

TFD put out the most lackluster grind album in 2011 I have heard and End Time wasn't far behind.
Mr. Doctor - 25.02.2012 at 21:01  
Written by Absak on 25.02.2012 at 18:13
TFD put out the most lackluster grind album in 2011 I have heard and End Time wasn't far behind.


Well, it's all a matter for opinion. I don't agree with you at all and neither does he I suppose.
3rdWorld - 27.02.2012 at 19:50  
Great review.... Reading the first paragraph... I thought it was Doc Godin. But its you, the other Doc. Great review. The thing that elevates this is the lack of slick production, that is a smart choice and pays off well. It is way better this way... that is not as slick as those recent Fuck the facts releases.
mz - 27.07.2013 at 19:22  
I really liked the first sentence

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Brutal Truth - Evolution Through Revolution 5.5 22.04.2009 by Jeff
Albums Brutal Truth - Sounds Of The Animal Kingdom 4.5 10.02.2010 by elekctric
News Brutal Truth - New Song Online 4.5 10.07.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Albums Brutal Truth - Evolution Through Revolution 4.5 11.02.2010 by elekctric
News Brutal Truth - DVD Trailer Online 4.5 18.06.2009 by Black Conundrum



Hits total: 5007 | This month: 58