Rating:
10
Paradise Lost - Draconian Times
1995


Disc I
01. Enchantment
02. Hallowed Land
03. The Last Time
04. Forever Failure
05. Once Solemn
06. Shadowkings
07. Elusive Cure
08. Yearn For Change
09. Shades Of God
10. Hands Of Reason
11. I See Your Face
12. Jaded
13. Walk Away [The Sisters Of Mercy cover] [bonus]
14. Laid to Waste [bonus]
15. Master of Misrule [bonus]
16. How Soon Is Now [2002 Re-release bonus]
17. Fear [2002 Re-release bonus]

Disc II Limited Edition Commemorative Tour Pack
01. Embers Fire [live]
02. Daylight Torn [live]
03. True Belief [live]
04. Pity The Sadness [live]
05. As I Die [live]
06. Weeping Words [demo]
07. The Last Time [demo]
08. Walk Away [The Sisters Of Mercy cover]
09. Laid To Waste
10. Master Of Misrule
11. Forever Failure [Video edit version]

Draconian Times (2011 Legacy Edition)
Disc I
01. Enchantment
02. Hallowed Land
03. The Last Time
04. Forever Failure
05. Once Solemn
06. Shadow Kings
07. Elusive Cure
08. Yearn for Change
09. Shades of God
10. Hands of Reason
11. See Your Face
12. Jaded
13. Enchantment [demo] [bonus]
14. Last Desire [demo] [bonus]
15. Forever Failure [bonus]
16. Shadow Kings [bonus]
17. Once Solemn [bonus]
18. Hallowed Land [bonus]
19. The Last Time [bonus]

Disc II DVD
01. ''Draconian Times'' in 5.1 Mix
+ Forever Failure [video]
+ The Last Time [video]
+ Hallowed Land [video]
+ 16 pages booklet including liner notes from the band and exclusive new artwork [Regular jewel case version]
+ 36 pages booklet including liner notes from the band and exclusive new artwork [A5 digibook version]


For a few years, the "happy folks" of Paradise Lost were used to making excellent albums such as Shades Of God or Icon, but nothing could really prepare us to this nuclear bomb, Draconian Times. This album, released in 1995, is, more than a confirmation, a real coup d?etat in the metal world: every listening, every note is a perpetual rediscovery. Tracks like 'Hallowed Land', 'Elusive Cure' or 'Forever Failure' exhale such beauty that there are no exact words to describe the emotion they make us feel.

The first track 'Enchantment' is representative of the atmosphere of the whole album, with mourning vocals following an slow and languorous intro. Then we could think that this album is only the weeping reflection of five sad clowns with on originality. Fuck it! The pair Holmes/Mackintosh shows a great ability for lyrical creation with varied and well written songs. So we can pass from a catchy and speed track to a darker atmosphere with 'Shadowkings', that has an efficent and excellent intro. 'Elusive Cure' and 'I See Your Face' are two quite similar tracks that immerge us in a fascinating and tripping atmosphere never heard before. Nick Holmes proves him excellent, he tries obscure tunes that strengthen the dark and frightening side of these tracks.
Then come 'Hallowed Land' and the wonderful 'Yearn For Change' in which the guitars have the lion's share. Greg Mackintosh shows all his abilities on the staggering solo of 'Hallowed Land', and meanwhile he brings us to our knees with the heavy riff of 'Yearn For Change' that is maybe the highlight of the album. 'Shades of God' and 'Jaded', even if they are a bit more classic, have a certain aura. 'Hands of Reason' is in the slow and heavy mood of the whole album. It also must be noticed that the songs are perfectly linked to each other, like the cool passage from 'Hallowed land' to 'The Last Time'. This last song, the single of Draconian Times, is the perfect summary of the album, with a strong rhythm, and a solo absolutely not boring. Finally, 'Forever Failure' is the dark power-ballad with Nick Holmes giving all the tragic mood to this track, that is at the same time desperate and really really dark. The final solo is a work of art enhanced by a keyboard.

There is nothing more to say, only that lyrism has never been used with such ability, mixing poetry and gothic atmospheres. Actually, Draconian Times is a diamond, listen to it and fly high... But take care not to fall down into depression. I?ve met perfection, and down there it's called Draconian Times.


Band profile: Paradise Lost
Album: Draconian Times


 


written by Gorey | 02.09.2003


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 207  
Search this topic:  


JohnDoe - 28.02.2007 at 01:06  
Great review to a great album. Draconian Times is an album you never get bored with, the proof for my statement being the fact that it ages well and there are always new listeners to enjoy it every year that passes (let's not forget this albumwas released 12 years ago).
Marcel Hubregtse - 28.02.2007 at 10:24  
This is the l;ast one of Paradise Lost's good albums for me. After this they became a poor man's Depeche Mode tribute band IMO and I already hated Depeche Mode LOL
cruzer - 01.01.2008 at 17:55  
I've love this album. I think its graetest album that i've ever heard from this band.
Can someone share this album to me? thks
Deadmeat - 19.01.2009 at 13:47  
Written by Paradox0 on 28.03.2008 at 21:24

I dont whats so great about this album. It sounds like a poor mans Metalica or something. Gothic was definetly there best, then I honestly felt they tried too hard to not repeat themselves afterwards honestly.

You'd wish this one was a Metallica album. It's great from the first till the last second. Great melodies, emotions, vocals and lyrics. Paradise Lost created perfect music with that album..
RockeRoy - 16.10.2009 at 19:50  
One of my all time favorit albums, even though this genre is not of my favorit, theres just something spesical about this one for me
THE_BLACK_GOD - 22.12.2009 at 22:48  
But nothing could really prepare us to this nuclear bomb, Draconian Times. Absolutely agree. this is the Nuclear bomb of Paradise Lost for sure. I love all tracks cant erase one of them when I need to listen to this album, you cant re listen to a song cause if the next one started you cant go back and listen again the ex song. just a 10 and a big 10.
Slayer666 - 10.01.2011 at 21:31  
Written by Paradox0 on 28.03.2008 at 21:24

I dont whats so great about this album.

Neither did I, at first. Only after many, many listens did I discover what a grower "Draconian Times" is. Now, it is by far my favorite Goth Rock album.
Angelic Storm - 10.01.2011 at 21:47  
Great album! I havent heard any of Paradise Lost's albums released after this one to compare, but I know it was their last goth/doom album for many years. This came at a time with PL could do no wrong, stringing many classic albums together in a row. "Shades Of God" will probably always remain my fave album by them, but this one is fantastic, and a fitting epitaph for the band's classic years. xD
Mr. Doctor - 11.01.2011 at 14:23  
Written by Slayer666 on 10.01.2011 at 21:31

Written by Paradox0 on 28.03.2008 at 21:24

I dont whats so great about this album.

Neither did I, at first. Only after many, many listens did I discover what a grower "Draconian Times" is. Now, it is by far my favorite Goth Rock album.


I completely agree with you here. At first it was "okay" but after many listens some stuff really starts to shine a lot and I can finally see how people viewthis album as a mastrerpiece. A lot of emotions in this cd. And the riffs and leads... Damn there's some good guitar work here!
ravendeath - 14.08.2011 at 00:25  
In my opinion this is one of the best or maybe the best metal album ever created, but for sure is the best goth metal album ever.
Renard Solitaire - 11.01.2012 at 07:40  
Written by ravendeath on 14.08.2011 at 00:25

In my opinion this is one of the best or maybe the best metal album ever created, but for sure is the best goth metal album ever.


I agree with you, I also think this is one of the best goth metal albums ever! One of the best atmosphere makers, along with Theatre of Tragedy's Aegis and Draconian's Arcane Rain Fell.
ravendeath - 11.01.2012 at 16:32  
Quote:
I agree with you, I also think this is one of the best goth metal albums ever! One of the best atmosphere makers, along with Theatre of Tragedy's Aegis and Draconian's Arcane Rain Fell.

Yes, those two are both great albums, but still I consider Draconian Times alongside with Icon as most influential albums of the genre. Also early works of Anathema and My Dying Bride count a lot here. Maybe it was something in the air in UK at that time
rafaelars - 02.06.2012 at 21:03  
One of the best album made EVER, I listening to this almost everyday, it's just perfect and beatifitul, to the first until the last song.
fanapathy - 07.11.2012 at 12:16  
Paradise Lost is a bit too depressive for me now, I pretty much listened to them all day 10 years ago and the music is indeed great, however demotivating leaving me with a feeling of hopelessness. This is a super album and one that I'll always go back to for a listen once in a while. I think it's a 9 with many magnificent songs.
theembryo - 26.06.2013 at 09:08  
I must say again that the only way this gets better is when it's played live!!
Mr. Doctor - 26.06.2013 at 12:04  
Urgh, no.
Gawain - 12.03.2014 at 22:44  
Wow.. I guess I need to listen to this. I borderline love Gothic and Icon and somehow I haven't listened to this one ..

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Paradise Lost - Draconian Times MMXI 7.5 07.11.2011 by
News Paradise Lost - Draconian Times Reissue, Tour Dates 7.5 16.11.2010 by Collin
Albums Paradise Lost - Draconian Times 7.5 02.10.2011 by musicalkaratekid
Events FRA, Paris - Paradise Lost: Draconian Times Tour 6 15.02.2011 by MechanisT
Events GRE, Thessaloniki - Paradise Lost: Draconian Times Tour 6 22.03.2011 by Velvet Thorns



Hits total: 6703 | This month: 58