Rating:
3.0
Aurinko - Deadwood
15 March 2012


01. Intro
02. Deadwood
03. Midwinter Burial
04. Nectar Of The Spirit
05. Solemn
06. Swept Across Time
07. I Wish You Were Here (To Feel My Pain)
08. On The Verge Of Collapse


Somber Eyes is a newly formed project spearheaded by 15-year-old Canadian Tanner Huotari, perhaps better known as local Metal Storm user BoxCar Willy. Unfortunately, this release feels like it was written by a 15-year-old.

Erroneously tagged as a black metal release, Deadwood is in actuality more of a contemporary folk release with hints of singer/songwriter attributes. The songs are relatively short and extremely simple, oftentimes maintaining one or two basic riffs from start to finish. This forces the listener to expect something to happen, as if the first half of a song is a major build-up to something grandiose. You will be disappointed to find out that the second half of each song plays out exactly the same as the first.

Tanner relies solely on the guitar as his weapon of choice, although for a brief moment a few solitary beats of a drum can be heard in the foreground. The only thing more out of place than this oddly placed instrument are the dismal vocals, which are way too high in the mix. It's as if Alexi Murdoch started writing music when he was 15 and tried grunting over his compositions. Simply put, the best part about the vocals is that about 90% of the album is instrumental.

This is essentially a 300-page novel that only tells the beginning of a story. You're introduced to the main character on page one and by the end of the book, all you know is the main character's first name. The lack of substance is enough to drive a listener crazy.

It isn't all bad, though. As simple and uneventful as the material is, there is plenty of potential to be seen here. At the end of the tunnel exists a light, and that light resembles the morose atmosphere created by minimalism and a lack of technicality. But that doesn't leave the listener feeling very good about spending 30 minutes listening to what is essentially five minutes of riffs repeated over the course of eight tracks without any backing instruments.

Performance: 5
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 4
Production: 5


Band profile: Aurinko
Album: Deadwood


 



Written on 15.03.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 58  
Users visited: 372  
Search this topic:  


BoxCar Willy - 28.03.2012 at 04:42  
Written by BaneConall on 27.03.2012 at 21:01

Boxcar, Please tune your guitar properly next time.

I found out after the fact, that my neck wasn't straight, thus creating the tuning issue. I was hoping nobody would notice
BaneConall - 28.03.2012 at 16:11  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 04:42

Written by BaneConall on 27.03.2012 at 21:01

Boxcar, Please tune your guitar properly next time.

I found out after the fact, that my neck wasn't straight, thus creating the tuning issue. I was hoping nobody would notice

Lol one of my guitars has the same problem. It starts to go out of tune on the higher frets. I feel your pain.
BoxCar Willy - 30.03.2012 at 04:57  
Written by BaneConall on 28.03.2012 at 16:11

Written by BoxCar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 04:42

Written by BaneConall on 27.03.2012 at 21:01

Boxcar, Please tune your guitar properly next time.

I found out after the fact, that my neck wasn't straight, thus creating the tuning issue. I was hoping nobody would notice

Lol one of my guitars has the same problem. It starts to go out of tune on the higher frets. I feel your pain.

Yeah, I've got it fixed since then, so it's all good now

Now what can I blame?
scapeplan - 13.05.2012 at 16:54  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 30.03.2012 at 04:57

Yeah, I've got it fixed since then, so it's all good now

Now what can I blame?


Lulu. You can blame Lulu for everything.
Cynic Metalhead - 13.05.2012 at 17:17  
Written by scapeplan on 13.05.2012 at 16:54

Written by BoxCar Willy on 30.03.2012 at 04:57

Yeah, I've got it fixed since then, so it's all good now

Now what can I blame?


Lulu. You can blame Lulu for everything.


I object( may be). If you talking about Lulu, I'll thump you. (ignoring Metallica's Lulu ridiculously).
BoxCar Willy - 14.05.2012 at 17:12  
Written by scapeplan on 13.05.2012 at 16:54

Written by BoxCar Willy on 30.03.2012 at 04:57

Yeah, I've got it fixed since then, so it's all good now

Now what can I blame?


Lulu. You can blame Lulu for everything.

Well, when I was recording I saw the cover of Lulu, and it must have screwed up my "musical genius" XD
scapeplan - 14.05.2012 at 18:02  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 14.05.2012 at 17:12

Written by scapeplan on 13.05.2012 at 16:54

Written by BoxCar Willy on 30.03.2012 at 04:57

Yeah, I've got it fixed since then, so it's all good now

Now what can I blame?


Lulu. You can blame Lulu for everything.

Well, when I was recording I saw the cover of Lulu, and it must have screwed up my "musical genius" XD


Lulu killed my grandparents years before it was even made. That's how it affected me, what's your story?
BoxCar Willy - 14.05.2012 at 18:11  
Written by scapeplan on 14.05.2012 at 18:02


Lulu killed my grandparents years before it was even made. That's how it affected me, what's your story?

It came through my window in the night, and it... did things to me...

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Somber Eyes - Deadwood 6 16.03.2012 by Alex Fenger
Reviews Pandemonium - Misanthropy 4.5 16.06.2012 by JD
Reviews Fell Voices - Regnum Saturni 4.5 06.12.2013 by mz
Reviews Tal'Set - La via del guerriero 4.5 30.03.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Thulcandra - Under A Frozen Sun 4.5 18.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 4089 | This month: 56