Rating:
N/A
Ministry - Relapse
23 March 2012


01. Ghouldiggers
02. Double Tap
03. FreeFall
04. Kleptocracy
05. United Forces
06. 99 Percenters
07. Relapse
08. Weekend Warrior
09. Git Up Get Out 'N Vote
10. Bloodlust
11. Relapse [Defibrillator Mix] [limited edition bonus]


In the world of Ministry, or at least in the demented, chemically imbalanced world of Al Jourgensen, everything is an addiction. It has therefore been fairly inevitable that the band is back with a new record, contrary to statements made just a few years ago. Al needs just one more fix, and it is called Relapse - a title that proves to be immensely accurate.

You see, if we stop to think and ignore all of the glamorized, self-tortured imagery associated with charismatic drug abusers, it is very clear that a Relapse is not something one should look forward to. The mind fails, organs disintegrate, death draws near and when it comes to Al's music, death is way overdue. Relapse is an epic failure, an album with nearly no merits to speak of. It is a shame that this album is adorned with the band's classic 90's logo.

Relapse really does reveal the very nucleus of why addiction is a deadly affliction. It is self-serving and self-defeating, it is nice to hear Ministry again but this is the sound of an addict's final, dying breath. It doesn't even help that some of the jackhammer riffs on this record are classically catchy and appropriately repetitive. We've heard it all before and done much better. Every idea here is recycled and even the moderately brilliant cover of S.O.D's "United Forces" is buried beneath the pile of suck. The lyrics are some of the worst ever on a Ministry record, the songs are boring and underwhelming and the considerable talents of all of the cogs in this machine (Tommy Victor, Mike Scaccia et al.) are wasted.

The conclusion is as inevitable as an addict's return to their drug of choice, with "Relapse", Al Jourgensen inadvertently made the ultimate statement about drug abuse: its not worth it. Not only is the "Relapse" fix not as good as that first hit, it also brings forward the scary realization that the drug wasn't all that awesome to begin with. "Relapse" is so embarrassing, so asinine, so unnecessary, that it manages to tarnish the godlike legacy of the Ministry brand, and this is quite the shameful feat. Avoid this album like the plague, trust me - abstinence is way better.


Band profile: Ministry
Album: Relapse


 



Written on 23.03.2012 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 268  
Search this topic:  


Introspekrieg - 23.03.2012 at 16:19  
Good review, definitely a relapse, Ministry rehashed. Pretty bad lyrics and worse choruses, but I enjoy this album, even if for the intensity of the repetitive riffage alone. "Double Tap" is probably my favorite off this one...
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.03.2012 at 16:23  
I suppose if there was any band that would bring you out of the woodwork it'd be Ministry.

I'll avoid this then it seems.
BitterCOld - 23.03.2012 at 17:12  
Your review reads like my concerns once this was announced were realized.

for whatever reason it reminds me of some lyrics to the Morrissey song "Disappointed" that I used to listen to from about the same point in time i started listening to Al and co...

"This is the last song I will ever sing... " (crowd applause) "... I've changed my mind again." (crowd boos.)
Big-Al - 23.03.2012 at 22:32  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.03.2012 at 16:23

I suppose if there was any band that would bring you out of the woodwork it'd be Ministry.

I'll avoid this then it seems.

http://www.metalinjection.net/av/ministry-relapse-full-album-stream
Baz Anderson - 24.03.2012 at 16:17  
This review is more harsh/honest than I could have been.
tea[m]ster - 24.03.2012 at 17:26  
Yikes, as a big fan of the band - the music, not all the extracurricular activites - it saddens me to read this. Anyone else feel Al isn't gonna make it back from the upcoming tour?
Raiden - 25.03.2012 at 09:14  
Damn, I wanted to hear this album, but I'd hate to tarnish my outlook on Ministry.
Mr. Doctor - 25.03.2012 at 17:49  
Quote:
"Relapse" is so embarrassing, so asinine, so unnecessary, that it manages to tarnish the godlike legacy of the Ministry brand, and this is quite the shameful feat.


This is such a sad thing... That's why I won't bother with this album, Ministry did such a great work which I don't want to get related with shit.
I, braineater - 01.04.2012 at 05:33  
A good review and a harsh truth I suppose. Of the 10 tracks, I will probably only listen to 3-4 of them a few times more. So I think it's not a total failure, but easily the worst things he's done in ages. If you liked the last three discs, you should probably give it a listen, but long time fans will find very little to like about it - not that Al was or ever will be able to reproduce anything like from the band's heyday. That possibility left with Barker.

Says a lot though when one the best tracks on it is a cover
bloodface - 29.04.2012 at 05:44  
Based on the artwork, timing, this review and the way that the ministry "retired" i knew that this album would suck and that i would never even hear it......but while tooling around chicago today i found it used for a few bucks and gave it a try. it is a valid ministry release, not an embarrassment and does not seem like a cash grab like i expected.

by the way discussions about tarnishing a bands legacy are a silly waste.....just listen to what you like. you never really "knew" you're favorite band, but the tarnish topic does drive web hits (hmmmmm).
Misfit74 - 16.12.2012 at 02:24  
You seem to have a finger on the pulse of addiction (and recovery?), which is cool to read intertwined with this review. Nice work.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Ministry - Houses Of The Molé 6 27.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Ministry - The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste 6 27.06.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Ministry - Rio Grande Blood 6 22.05.2006 by __Az__
Reviews Ministry - Cover Up 6 05.04.2008 by ThunderAxe1989
Articles Ministry: CU Latour Warsaw Stodola July 15th 2008 5 24.07.2008 by



Hits total: 5635 | This month: 65