Rating:
5.0
Mpire Of Evil - Hell To The Holy
26 March 2012


01. Hellspawn
02. Metal Messiah
03. Waking Up Dead
04. Hell To The Holy
05. Snake Pit
06. All Hail
07. Devil
08. Shockwave
09. The 8th Gate
10. M-pire (Prelude)


Well, if there's one thing that Mpire Of Evil has proven, it's that one Venom is enough.

Mantas, Demotion Man, Antton. Those names sound familiar? Yeah, that's because they're all former Venom members. Taking into account this is a band of Venom rejects, these guys actually did a spectacular job. Well, yes, it does pretty much suck, but it's like watching a Devry dropout get a job at NASA. Sure, his job may consist solely of cleaning the vomit off the astronaut's training apparatus, but still - good for him. Mpire Of Evil is essentially where current Venom is. Everything from generic riffs and muddy production to the vocal delivery is essentially the same.

The only significant difference with Hell To The Holy is that it is a little less campy, which in turn makes it worse. As a Venom fan, I can say without any hesitation that, yes, they do suck. Their one redeeming quality is that goofy caveman quality that makes them a great band to put on while pounding 40's of malt liquor (as long as you're going to be abandoning any pretense of class anyways...) Even most Venom fans are fans based on a little sense of irony. Anyone who takes them seriously is probably some kind of inbred perma-drunk. If you take away the over-the-top comical side to them, as Mpire Of Evil have done, you're left with a pretty generic heavy metal album performed by sub-par musicians.

If you don't like Venom, Mpire Of Evil is a waste of time. If you own a Venom album, Mpire Of Evil is a waste of time...In fact, it's difficult to figure out what demographic would find this to be a valuable listen.


 



Written on 07.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 95  
Search this topic:  


RottingDeathHead - 07.04.2012 at 12:06  
I saw them live heard there stuff, I thought they sounded fuckin sick, I dont know? Maybe that's just me
Troy Killjoy - 07.04.2012 at 15:57  
If your band is in any way similar to Venom, I'm for one most definitely not interested. Thanks for the warning.
knightlightning - 07.04.2012 at 16:09  
The other day i listened to this on youtube... boring
RavenKing - 07.04.2012 at 18:05  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.04.2012 at 15:57

If your band is in any way similar to Venom, I'm for one most definitely not interested. Thanks for the warning.


Same here.
Ozman - 07.04.2012 at 18:32  
Written by RavenKing on 07.04.2012 at 18:05

Written by Troy Killjoy on 07.04.2012 at 15:57

If your band is in any way similar to Venom, I'm for one most definitely not interested. Thanks for the warning.


Same here.


And here another one.
!J.O.O.E.! - 07.04.2012 at 18:36  
*jumps on bandwagon heading away from Venom members*
@gent_-_orange - 07.04.2012 at 18:40  
Its a shame the town I come from's only real contribution to metal (apart from Brian Johnson and Debatebly Sky-clad) is Venom. A band derivative of Venom doesn't interest me at all.
-DC-002- - 07.04.2012 at 20:26  
Haha! good review but the meat of it was the first sentence didn't even get farther then that it was so rich with context.
theFIST - 08.04.2012 at 17:44  
Amazing review
but why such a high score?????
Chainer - 09.04.2012 at 01:45  
Am I the only one who thinks that malt liquor screams class? Classy drink for classy people, who listen to shitty music.
.Nick - 12.04.2012 at 22:47  
Awesome bandname

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Goatwhore - Constricting Rage Of The Merciless 6 17.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews The Haunted - Exit Wounds 6 25.08.2014 by deadone
Reviews Rusted Dawn - The Black Tides Of War 6 20.06.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews Orchid's Curse - Voices: The Tales Of Broken Men 6 30.09.2010 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Outcast - Awaken The Reason 6 18.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2568 | This month: 38