Evenoire - Vitriol review


18 users:
Band: Evenoire
Album: Vitriol
Release date: March 2012

01. Vitriol
02. Days Of The Blackbird
03. Misleading Paradise
04. Forever Gone
05. The Prayer
06. Girl By The Lake
07. Minstrel Of Dolomites
08. Alchimia
09. Wise King

Here's a band that doesn't really have much of a clue as to what direction they want to take their music in. Granted these are fully capable musicians with a fairly decent ear for song structure, making Vitriol an almost good symphonic gothic metal album.

Everything just has a really inconsistent, patchy quality to it. Every time it starts giving off some impressive qualities, it bounces back to a patchwork of mismatched sounds. It seems at every moment at least one aspect of this album is going poorly. Either the guitarist is putting forth some riff that could conceivably considered "progressive" but just sound choppy, the synths sound cheap & thin, the vocalist is trying to hit some operatic notes that just sound beyond her skill level, or the production is a horrid mess.

Fortunately, very rarely do all of these things go off track at once, so it's not a complete train-wreck. Sometimes, the riffs are flowing solidly, the vocalist is hitting all the right notes, and even the synths seem to pick up a little power. The bad part is all these things don't come together properly until the last few tracks of the album.

Evenoire is not a band to discount right off the bat, as they do seem to have some good ideas that haven't really been formed properly with their debut. There's more than enough cool symphonic and a couple folk moments here to give off the impression that Evenoire is just in their embryonic state. Good for them, but for now, this one is a "meh" worthy album.


Written on 07.04.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.

Hits total: 2705 | This month: 7